Steemit Open Mic Week 74 - My Delirium (cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey guys,

I thought for this week's Steemit Open Mic week, I would do a completely different spin on an old favourite of mine. I will post up the original at the bottom of this post so you can see the difference.

I first heard Ladyhawke when I was about 14 years old and loved their unique style. I latched on to this song and played it over and over whilst I chatted to people on MSN (yes, it was back in those days). I have ALWAYS had trouble understanding lyrics, this could be something to do with my dyslexia, who knows?! But I always thought she was singing "you're playing with my do-o-o-o yeah" so it was quite a surprise when I actually found out what the lyrics were. This literally always happens to me. I'm very silly.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy my rendition of the song. I decided to really play on the tones of my voice because this is what @krystle and @verbal-d have really picked up on in my performances.
I have tried to make my voice sound even more haunting and have pre-recorded my harmonies. It's quite hard to record the harmony first so it's not 100% perfect but I hope you still enjoy!

Late night, waiting by the phone
Tonight waiting for an answer
Heartbeat drumming double time
I need one more chance to be near you
Still hanging on
(For what)
Can't operate
(Fired up)
I won't eat and I won't sleep for you, yeah
No rest till I
(Get through)
'Cause I'm holding out
(For you)
Am I the only one who's insane?
Hey, you're playing with my delirium
And the longer I wait the harder I'm gonna fall
Stop playing with my delirium
'Cause I'm outta my head and outta my self-control
Still here in this quiet room
Deep in delusion sending me over
Outside watch the world go by
Inside time stands still as I wonder
Still hanging on
(For what?)
Can't operate
(Fired up)
I won't eat and I won't sleep for you, yeah
No rest till I
(Get through)
'Cause I'm holding out
(For you)
Am I the only one who's insane
Hey, you're playing with my delirium
And the longer I wait the harder I'm gonna fall
Stop playing with my delirium
'Cause I'm outta my head and outta my self-control
(I won't eat and I won't sleep for you, yeah)
Hey, you're playing with my delirium
And the longer I wait the harder I'm gonna fall
Stop playing with my delirium
'Cause I'm outta my head and outta my self-control


(youtube)

Sort:  

Love your performance this week.

Please remember to say Steemit Open Mic week 74 and your username at the start of your video. Even though I know you now and would know if someone tried to steal your video to claim as their own, new people will give me a hard time for allowing your video as valid without the intro and not allow it for their video. I hope you understand. Thanks

beautiful performance as usual.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hi @luzcypher!

Thank you very much!
I know, I'm sorry...I realised right after I posted it to your post. I always play them back to check they work and I put my head in my hands when I realised.

Don't worry, next week I will be on my best behaviour and try not to be in such a rush when I post it! :D

Well you won anyway! First place. Congrats!

Hi, Incredible voice, please, could you hear my cover and give me some suggestions for improvement?

https://steemit.com/openmic/@calule7/steemit-open-mic-semana-74-wake-me-up-when-september-ends-green-day

Oh wow AMAZING.. wish i could play with this

your voice transmits an infinite calm I felt in the clouds, what a beautiful voice you have. I know I will not be at your height but mine was a bit more humorous if you want to pass you I follow you are great.

You're quite the poet @jessalin! Thank you ever so much, that's incredibly kind. I'll have a look, and good luck!

Glad to still see you pumping new content.... both of us now rep 60+ :D

We're growing up :D

Cheers

Haha, good for us @spiritualmax!

You're 1 year older though ;) congrats!

I'm 2 months and something old... fail :D

What a voice girl! I could feel your soul singing in there!

Greetings from Venezuela

Manu Rodriguez.

Ah thank you very much @manurodriguez!

Wow, double wow! That was freaking amazing, that's the voice of a superstar for sure. You don't already have an album?

Haha thank you! That's a very encouraging comment! I am currently writing a secret album with my original work ;) I'll post once it's completed

That's awesome! If you truly love singing be sure to put your all into it and don't make any excuses, push as hard as you can to make your dreams a reality. I say that because my mom also has a top notch voice such as yourself and she often regrets not putting her all into going after her dream. I wish you much success and can't wait to hear the new album.

I loved your video. I'll keep my Up Vote for a valid entry just to support someone who could need it and who is actually competing this week, but I do think you're great.

No, you know what? I'll give it to you 'cause you're the first entry I have found which I've felt identified with the most. So, well, your work is super cool, really. Loved it.

I feel comforted after hearing your singing out. but may I suggest, you should use facial expression like a professional singer. it will be even more interesting

Ah thank you very much and cheers for the suggestion. I do know I'm not overly expressive facially when I sing. However, the whole point in my performance is that I'm focussing on my voice and not faking an expression. I'm not overly expressive when I sing and that is just what's natural to me. I didn't do videos before Steemit, I was literally just a recording and so I'm getting there one step at a time. I do prefer to be genuine and stick to what I do best, which is trying to sing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70