Open mic week 71 - Remember me - Gavin James cover

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!!

This is my entry for this week's Open mic:

Here are the lyrics:

Would you remember me
When we were only seventeen
When we were living in our dreams
When we were young.

And all of those midnight skies
Swallowed up our childish eyes
Everything we thought was a lie,
When we were young.

And I know when your world it shakes
It can make you ache
It can bring you to your knees

It's not where you go
it's just where you're going
And who's the company.

Through the tears we cry
let them pass us by,
And get washed into the sea

Won't you just remember me
when I was your light?
I was yours and you were mine.

When we were never scared at all
Broken hearts and alcohol
Never seemed to fill the holes
when I was yours.

Ohh

And I know when your world it shakes
It can make you ache
It can bring you to your knees

It's not where you go
it's just where you're going
And who's the company.

Through the tears we cry
let them pass us by
And get washed into the sea.

Wont you just remember me
when I was your light?
Oh, I was yours and you were mine.

And oh oh oooh.. And oh oh oooh.

Now I just sleep all day
Dreaming that you'll steal me away
But in my dreams you'll always stay
But I'm awake

Oh I'm awake ohh..

And I know when your world it shakes
It can make you ache
It can bring you to your knees

It's not where you go
it's just where you're going
And who's the company.

Through the tears we cry
let them pass us by
And get washed into the sea

Wont you just remember me
when I was your light?
Oh when I was your light
Cause I was yours and you were mine


I've wanted to record this song for a long long time, I first heard it on a Focusrite product demo funnily enough! Haha, it was just Gavin James with a telecaster going straight through to the interface and a condenser mic, and it just blew me away! I couldn't stop replaying it for almost a week hehe.

He does this wonderful fingerpicking, Ive been trying to learn it, but it's really difficult, so instead I decided to use this strumming pattern I learned from listening to John Mayer's Stop this train (and a million YouTube tutorials LOL).

I truly hope you enjoy it as much I enjoyed playing it!!

Thank you very much to @luzcypher and , @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, and @passion-ground, you guys rock!

Also @ausbitbank and @xedal and @pfunk for their generosity!

Also to everyone who shared and commented and upvoted any of my posts! :)


This Saturday at 11 AM EST(1600 UTC) I will be Joining some incredible people!!!

I will be playing live on Sounds of Steem- a live music concert

Hosted by @aggroed, @isaria and @krystle!!

There will be a lot of live music! I hope you will join us!


Thank you for reading and watching!

Til' my next post!

Sign off.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Nice cover!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hallo!, thank you @luzcypher :)

@luisferchav great song, nice work greetings

hey @jackjohanneshemp! Thank you very much! greettings! :D

your welcome

Tu vooooooooooooozzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ♥

Graciaaaaaaaaaaaas!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Really lovely vocal, what reverb set up are you using? It's so lush. Great performance too.

Hey @kryptoe! Thank you very much!! I'm using a free reverb that Acon digital made for Reverb.com hehe, it's really beautiful! Here's a link for it, also, it's free :D

https://reverb.com/software/effects/acon-digital/47-reverb-solo

I usually Eq it and take some of the really high end, don't remember right now the exact settings but you can use any eq you got! :)

I will be making a post on the reverbs I us in the future! :D

Thank you for the link.

voice of a angel!

Hehe Thank you so much! :)

Sos groso Luchoooo!!! Vamooooooo

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65