Steemit Open Mic Week 79 - FIRST EVER STEEMIT POST!!! (Original) The Sun & the Moon - Maryse McIver

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry in Steemit’s Open Mic comp & I’m super excited to become a part of this creative and inspiring community!

This is an original song I wrote after spending nearly 3 years trekking around the world through all the wide open spaces of Australia, through Europe and India seeing so many different cities, places, meeting new friends & getting into love-tangled experiences. The song itself was written after coming back home to Melbourne, when I was contemplating life, love and where to go next. I’d often find myself going to old places in my hometown & feeling somewhat out of place, noticing little things like how much my accent had changed. I guess the song in itself was a space where I was finding forgiveness for myself for not at times, honouring my heart & to not forget about the world around me outside of my internal dialogue.

LYRICS

In this same old City (the Sun & the Moon)

I was waiting here
Just that little bit longer than I,
Thought I would stay before
But change slipped into my life
An uncertainty
Of where the next step may lye
But I lay here now
In this same old city
Trying to forgive myself
For all my wrongs
Strumming away and playing this guitar

The Sun & the Moon come & go so soon
And I find myself forgetting all the magic that surrounds me
Getting lost in my own world
And then I find myself in yours
And I know that
I know that I like it

A bittersweet Love
With all the fears now of a child
And I’m failing to remember what it feels like
To roam wild
But those days have passed me by
Disenchantment makes me cry
Now my world is being rocked out into space
My world is being rocked out into space

The Sun & the Moon come & go so soon
And I find myself forgetting all the magic that surrounds me
Getting lost in my own world
And then I find myself in yours
And I know that
I know that I like it

I feel these stars colliding
I feel myself unwinding
Here in my mind’
Oh we’re planets apart
But I’m still standing wounded
I’m trying to mend my broken heart
Trying to mend my broken heart

The Sun & the Moon come & go so soon
And I find myself forgetting all the magic that surrounds me
Getting lost in my own world
And then I find myself in yours
And I know that
I know that I like it

The Sun & the Moon
Come and go so soon…

Sort:  

Welcome to Open Mic. Loved your song and performance and hope to hear more soon.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher.. I’m really inspired to be apart of this supportive & creative community! 😊

Hey mate @luzcypher, this is my gorgeous lady. I finally got her here on Steemit & Open Mic!

Wow thank you so much!! What a awesome honour. 😊

Awesome maiden entry, Mary... Great composition and performance - loved it!

Mate! You found my lady's first ever post, @passion-ground! Yay!
Not only is she a bundle of talent & plays many instruments and experiments with different tunings, like in this video, but she's also the mother of my youngest daughter and 4 & 1/2 months pregnant at the moment with our next child!!

Congratulations, mate - you are one blessed man! Your lady is quite lovely and rather talented - I'd love to see you two perform together sometime!

"I'm a Lucky Man! I'm a lucky maaaaan! How'd I get so lucky! I wanna be lucky!"
"I mean no disrespect, but damn your woman is fine!"

hahaha

Thanks heaps @passion-ground! That’s really lovely of you to say about the song.

My pleasure, Mary - can't wait to hear more from you. :-)

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of Gods creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am one of the 10 attributes/emanations part of the Curator Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself.

Spam is discouraged by the community, including comment spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Wow! That was really good.
Both lyrics and your voice are just so beautiful.
Welcome to the platform! :D

Thanks for the welcome & the lovely words @lordkingpotato.. Steemit is definitely an inspiring platform already! :)

Welcome to Steemit!
You will do great and find a great community here.
I know Nathan, and of course you had to be a great artist! It is nice to see you here too :)

Greetings from Spain
Lost in my own world, Héctor

Thanks so much Héctor! I really appreciate the good vibes.. :)

Welcome to Steemit and Openmic Mrs Kaye!
Really enjoyed your song!
Cheers
Darren

Thanks @darrenclaxton! Really inspired to be here on Steemit.. love your music & vibe.. We were listening to one of your songs whilst having a morning coffee yesterday! 😊

Welcome to steemit Maryse :) ! Love this song ! It had a dreamy vibe with i guess the open tuning you were using , glad to have you on board ! and I hope to hear more from you here ! Also come chat sometime with us at Helpie :) . A big welcoming hug !

Pechiche

Thank you @pechichemena.. yes dreamy vibes is definitely the feel I was going for with a D tuning & capo to mix things up.. will definitely get on board with Helpie too. Big hugs back!

Welcome to Steemit!

The song sounds amazing. Your play style is so intriguing. That thumb is really working some extra bass into the song and I love how the reverb gives the song that dreamy vibe.

You're every bit as talented as Nathan. What a heap of awesomeness in one place! Your kids must be having so much fun growing up with such musical parents.

Wow thanks heaps @soulturtle!! I do like trying experimental ways to play & with an open D & a capo you can get some dreamy sounds. The lounge room at our place is basically a studio space with loads of instruments!!

That was beautiful!! lovely voice and brilliant song...

Welcome to Steem!

Thanks for the kind words @meno. :) It’s exciting to get involved with Steemit’s open mic after witnessing how much Nathan has been loving it. It’s actually been a good motivation to play more music everyday too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61