Openmic Songwriters Challenge Week # 4 - Because we can (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

It's I-hope-I-will-make-it-to-bed-before-dawn kind of late again. After a week knocked out by the flu I'm back with a brand new song.
I find it's quite a challenge to record a song right after writing it. So don't mind the thinking pauses. ;)

This weeks topic made me think about all the things we could do. And all the things we should do - because we can.

In German we have the word "Weltschmerz" to describe a state of feeling the whole worlds pain. This song came out of the helplessness and sorrow I sometimes feel when I watch society loose connection to our true nature. We are not separate from what surrounds us - we are a part of it. This is why we have to consider the consequences of our actions, of how we treat our planet and each other. If we stop acting like a parasitic species in our own habitat we could instead live up to our whole potential and feel the connection with each other through air we breath and the ground beneath our feet. Just because we can.

Can't you hear the birds are singing for peace
Can't you feel the connection
through the wind that sways the leaves

Can't you feel the trees are longing for peace
Can you deny the connection
to the oxygen you breath

But if we cut them down
we pull our roots from the ground
and where their branches could grow
our children will never know
'Cos if we build our world
for the price of this earth
then we will die to survive
though we could thrive
We could thrive
Maybe we could thrive

How can we be home
when we act like
we don't know
And how can we go on
when all of
our respect is gone

The mighty river it tries to break free
from the dams we constructed
so our souls can reach the sea

'Cos if we let it flow
it teaches us what we know
we will remember the fact
that we've been taught to forget
And once we've woken up
there'll be no lie that could stop
us from the deed of being alive
'cos we can thrive
We can thrive
Together we can thrive

Can't you sense there is more than we see
Don't you think it is time to
embrace what we can be

what you do is what the whole universe is doing at the place you call 'here and now'. you are something that the whole universe is doing, in the same way that a wave is something the whole ocean is doing. the real you is not a puppet which life pushes around. the real deep down you is the whole universe.
Alan Watts

It's now guys. Time to change the universe.
;)

Sort:  

That is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. I'm speechless and forever changed now. Thank you so much for melting my apathy away and replacing it with the reassurance of knowing the beauty of your song and the message it contains is alive on this planet today.

This is one of the most moving comments about my music that i have ever received. I have no words for how happy it made me to read this. I wanna hug you for that. T h a n k y o u!

Melavie your merciless evil beautiful soul... you have played with my heart yet again... what a treat... what a treat...

You should know im going to put this song on the usb of my car.... i still have the goosebumps...

It seems our emotional files are stored in one cloud.
Without you this one would not exist, so thank you!
What an honor that you take my song with you on a ride. :)

Melavie:

Firstly, "high-fives" insofar as turning an otherwise "positive" theme into the general abyss of darkness, hope, yearning, and, despair.

Melavie, your lyrics and the words within your submission - by themselves - ranked quite high in my estimation. The one phrase amidst your most eloquent post that resonated with me greatly is as follows:

"This weeks topic made me think about all the things we could do. And all the things we should do - because we can."

Your lyrics are quite moving to say the least. And yes, I certainly agree that there is far more there than we can actually see - and as such, there is far much more to consider than what we can simply do... Furthermore, I do think it's high-time that we embrace that which we can... and - As do you, I only hope it can be...

Beyond all that, your interpretation of this week's theme is quite stirring, and very much appreciated - thank you... .x

Yes indeed I seem to have turned the topic around again. Actually after a inspiring talk with @chaifm I wanted to write a rather happy song about all the little things we can do and I ended up procrastinating again... and this is the final outcome. :)
Thank you for your comment and your steady support. I'm really grateful.

Holy sweet tears of mercy where in the steemisphere did YOU come from? That was mindblowing! I mean, I practise a bit of Weltschmerz from time to time but it NEVER sounds like that.....where did you get that voice from??? Its like a giant mythical earth creature just gave me a soul hug. You have definitely just given the universe something very special.

Wow. Thank you so much. Your words make me very happy. That voice was a gift from my mum and Weltschmerz did the rest. How these songs come to life is also a very mysterious process to me. It's like they write themselves and when they're done I can't quite believe that this just came out of me.
I am really grateful to share this soulhug with you. Special indeed.

you are channeling! thats the greatest, when your mind can switch off and the cosmos just does the work for you! :) It means you are creating something that the universe actually wants x

What a beautiful song. Your voice expressing these words in such a way that is instantly becoming a right sense to do, your emotion and flawlessness is just mesmerizing, not to mention that your voice contains a natural reverb within (or there is a microphone around that I don't see), which is amazing to me, and your vibrato and little bends you do with the tone are majestic. I love the overall message of your song and I pretty much can relate to everything you say. However..you got yourself a new follower. Schön dich kennengelernt zu haben..ein schönen Tag noch. ☺

I have to disappoint you but the reverb is coming from that mic in the left corner... but everything else is really me. :) Danke dir vielmals für die schönen Worte! Freu mich auch!

Well now I'm disapointed...☺ Hast du sehr schön gemacht und nichts zu danken. (;

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Very emotional voice and lyrics! Super schön präsentiert ! 🙏 Namaste

Dankeschön! Freut mich! :)

What a nice melody and pretty voice, that with the minimalistic piano approach set a very nice mood . This was a very inspiring performance . The lyrics are also very deep . I really loved this . Thanks for sharing !

Thanks for listening and for your words! Happy I inspired you. :)

That voice! Thank you for sharing it to us! Ahh, such a lullaby! <3

and your vibrato is dang good!!!!

I don't know about your timezone but I hope I didn't tuck you back in first thing in the morning. :)
I'm happy to hear you liked it. Thanks for stopping by!

Sehr schön Melanie, sehr schöne Stimme und toller text! Frohe Weihnachten!

Danke Flo! Freut mich! Dir auch frohe Weihnachten! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67