Announcing a new radio show idea: Songwriter's Shop Talk on MSP-WAVES

in #openmic6 years ago

   Many of my fellow Steemians are aware that I've recently become part of the MPS-WAVES team, it's been a great experience so far, and I feel extremely grateful to everyone that has taken their time to teach me the dark art of running an online radio.


Songwriting.png

   I honestly believe that @globocop and @r0ndon don't get enough praise, the amount of dedication that it takes to make MSP Waves run smoothly is nothing to sneeze at. I would encourage any reader of mine to stop by their profiles, make sure to follow them, and if you have enjoyed any of the shows on MSP, make sure you let them know how much you appreciate them too.


gokuvegeta.gif

   As part of my personal growth on this platform, and on the community, I keep on trying to find ways I can do more for the community. I may be just a minnow myself, but I don't believe my impact on Steemit is determined by the size of my upvotes. ( my 10 cents of fury at the moment)

    Since music, and songwriting is my biggest passion in life it only made sense to see if there was something there for me to explore, thus the idea for this radio show was born. You see, a songwriter is a special breed of musician, he/she may be a talented player, a talented singer, or not at all... and that is what is fantastic about writing songs.

   A songwriter is in my opinion somewhat of a emotions translator, if that makes any sense at all. There are many ways that a songwriter might approach writing, but in essence all of them are able to grasp an emotion, a special message, a story and convert it into a musical vessel of communication. That process, that almost magical transformation of ideas is something that has inspired me for as long as I can remember.


music saves.jpg

What can you expect from the show?

   I would like it a place to not only talk about music and its technicalities, but a place where we can talk about the emotions behind music. The things that drive songwriters to write, to share sometimes their most vulnerable and painful moments with an audience of complete strangers. Being an original musician can be rough at times, it's one thing to sing a song everybody knows and loves, and another all together to sing one of your own.

   The most important aspect of this idea is to showcase the people behind the songs, their life's philosophy. I would venture to say that most amazing songwriters have lived, or are currently living a life worth talking about.

Who will be on the show?

   I have spoken with many musicians already, and I think for the most part everyone I've spoken to is onboard. I've asked @isaria to join me (on the days when she can, she's like doing 20 shows a week) and also @luzcypher , the fearless leader of the open mic movement, and a prolific songwriter himself.

When? What time? BBQ or Sweet and Sour?

   As it stands today the plan is to start as soon as next week, possibly right after @ma1neevent weekly interview show. (btw I you have not done so, you should talk to @ma1neevent about getting on air). But more details are sure to come, and to answer the last question you might have, BBQ... always BBQ.

   I would like to however Invite my fellow musicians, my fellow songwriters to leave me your thoughts, comments and suggestions regarding the radio show.

What would you like to see/hear? Who of you would like to get on air with us, and chat it up? What do you like more Cheezits or Chicken Nuggets? (part of the approval process from all the intel that I've gathered).

   I'm going to sign off for now, got some life to attend to, but I'm excited for this little venture. I can't wait to talk with you all.

Musically yours

MenO -01.png


You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-


You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


msp waves.gif


Img 1

Img 2

Img 3

Sort:  

I had a gut feeling that something like this was gonna happen!

This sounds like a pretty good idea! Who knows what interesting things might come of a show like this...live collaborations perhaps? :-)

that could be something... for sure... i would love that

Siempre con grandes ideas!

Great post - Great Idea! All the best with it Meno, I'm sure you'll knock it out of the park, brother!

mega cool. This is a really exciting project Meno. You may be a Furious 10 Centicled Minnow Squid, but you are a living legend in my FEED brother. massive love and support to you and this whole endeavour. Keep rocking x The SONGWRITER WILL BE REDISCOVERED though this show!!!!!

Hahahaha basil you are a riot!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by MenO from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This sounds awesome! I will not, however, choose between Cheezits and chicken nuggets. There is no reason to deprive oneself of either. BBQ wins every battle, though.

Oh Paul, once we get this show on the road I would love to have you swing by.... you already qualify with the BBQ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78