Steemit Open Mic Week 69 - Joe Nolan's Original Song "Tell Me A Story"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

"Tell Me A Story" speaks to the narratives we form out of memories and experiences along with the lifelong tales we write together in collaboration with our families and friends, enemies and comrades. Like all great songs, "Tell Me A Story" is also a tuneful take on the themes of love and death.

Ooops. Notice I say "68" in the video. My entry stands and I understand the rules.

Somewhere down the river there's a mission
a mill with a spinning waterwheel
a hawk up in the sky who's just busy getting high enough
to see if this here story is for real.

A woman with a baby by the water
autumn burning brightly in her hair
The river takes her tears
it stands in for her fears
Yeah, tomorrow she'll be faraway
from here

Tell me a story, baby
one that never ends
Take me to glory like you would
some special friend
When they come to stone me
have some mercy
left to lend
Tell me a story, baby
one that never ends

A hunter with a rifle by the hedgerow
his red dog running ragged on the green
Look into his eyes
they're made of alibis
He's the saddest person that I've ever seen

An angel with an arrow by the treeline
Tonight she will fly across the sea
She's not tempting fate with the way she hesitates
She's patient. She's waiting there for me

Tell me a story, baby
one that never ends
Take me to glory like you would
some special friend
When they come to stone me
have some mercy
left to lend
Tell me a story, baby
one that never ends

Here's my song along with an adorable ON THE ROAD tshirt...

Sort:  

wow, didn't expect that voice to come out after hearing you talk!!

Haha. Hope that's a good thing 😎

great composition and delivery it blew me away. I'm closer to being a Dylan fan after hearing you do this. the imagery is spectacular, the line "when they come to stone me have some mercy to lend" absolutely brilliant, I could go on...

Thank you for listening, and for your kind words @gibber

I've always been so impressed by folks who can play both the harmonica and guitar together and do it well. You've clearly been doing this for a while. • Your voice reminds me of Dylan – I'm guessing you've heard this before. ;)

All the wood reed instruments imitate the human voice. My first musical instrument was the saxophone. Are you a Coltrane fan?

Another nice one, Joe! Definitely Dylan-esk, which is so cool, man!

Thank you, PG. Always appreciate your ears here!

really cool your video. success is always brother

Have a great day, my friend

Damn right! Bob Dylan wishes he wrote that.

And blessings upon you...

Sounds really good man! Love your song and your delivery is spot on.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks as always to you and @pfunk for curating this space for music!

Good openmic piece, you have my vote, I also have a song here I leave the link for you to hear it https://steemit.com/openmic/@misc.jocs/steemit-open-mic-week-69-vive-en-mi-coalo-zamorano-cover

This is really great man! You nailed those lyrics. Seriously impressive stuff. You have my vote for sure.

Thanks for the good words. You got a badass #steemit handle. #respect

Congratulations @mightyjoenolan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97