Steemit Open Mic Week 89 | Sonata II para flauta y violín de Joseph Boismotier.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

 

DQmdSF8uUGd1W4qp8qfXuSzX3CUEgAT7rHkDMTP9xr9o9EX.png

I play flute since I was 8 years old, for me to face a camera and do what I have always done, it does not represent anything new. However, never, never, I’ve never had any contact with music production. I was one of those who recorded with the cell phone microphone and did not understand how it could sound so ugly hahaha. These weeks have been quite hard, full of learning and perseverance. I learned to use a DAW (Reaper), well ... use the basics really; I also learned to edit a video (with SonyVegas 13.0). Almost everything was an intuitive process, but when I got an obstacle that I did not understand, I went to YouTube and some tutorial helped me to solve it. I would like to share with you part of the odyssey:


My dad has given me a dynamic microphone. Those with whom he sang with karaoke from time to time. Having no audio interface, I had to buy a couple of adapters to connect the cannon to the mini-plug, while still feeling some pain, as I lose many frequencies in the process ...


 


The next problem to solve was the noise. I live in the middle of a avenue. The cars and especially the motocicles pass by making a huge noise ruining the shots all the time. To that we add that, the room has a huge balcony that filters any sound easily.


 


 
The solution was simple, accept the noise and live with it. Unfortunately I could not move the building site, or get many mattresses with what to isolate the room. As bad as it sounded, this forced me to learn how to handle the equalizer and some Reaper filters a bit, so in the end, I gained experience thanks to the motorized and buglers.

The execution of the work is interpreted by my beloved girlfriend @luisanahernandez, and my person. We had little time to rehearse, much less to record; however, I am quite happy with the result.

After the recording, I proceeded to work on the audio. I deleted all the funny parts, I fought with the DAW to record, I fixed the cell phone camera while @luisanahernandez told me to hurry; I also deleted the end of the audio where we laughed. We really had a great time recording this for you, it's a pity that I no longer have those bloopers; it would have been fun to share it with you and laugh together.

After that I proceeded to equalize the shot. I used a "band" negative gain for the high frequencies; the idea was to reduce the background noise as much as possible, subtracting the lowest possible brightness from the flute.



 
I tried to use a filter to completely eliminate the noise, but sacrificed too much the sound of the instruments. It ended up sounding very artificial for my taste. So I proceeded to concentrate on reverberance and echo.

It's a music that used to be played in churches with high ceilings, the acoustics gave you a fairly broad reverberance and echo that, I wanted to emulate using the DAW. I think I failed, I confess that I feel that my hand went a little far. But well, to be my first time, I think it was not so badly.


 


 
Anyway ... it was a wonderful experience. I would like to ask you wholeheartedly, you musical producers, to use the comments box to advise me in handling the dark arts of gravure and editing. I would like to learn more to give them better jobs they can enjoy. Again, I thank everyone, and I leave you with the final result. Hope you like:




DQmdSF8uUGd1W4qp8qfXuSzX3CUEgAT7rHkDMTP9xr9o9EX.png

Versión en Español

Toco flauta desde los 8 años, para mí ponerme frente a una cámara y hacer lo que siempre he hecho, no representa ninguna novedad. Sin embargo, nunca, nunca, nunca he tenido contacto alguno con la producción música. Era de esos que grababa con el micrófono del celular y no entendía cómo podía sonar tan feo jajaja.

Estas semanas han sido bastante duras, llenas de mucho aprendizaje y constancia. Aprendí a usar una DAW (Reaper), bueno... usar lo básico realmente; aprendí también a editar un vídeo (con SonyVegas 13.0). Casi todo fue un proceso intuitivo, pero cuando conseguía un obstáculo que no entendía, me iba a Youtube y algún tutorial me ayudaba a solucionar.

Quisiera compartir con ustedes parte de la odisea:


Mi papá me ha regalado un micrófono dinámico. De esos con los que cantaba con el karaoke de vez en cuando. Al no tener ninguna interfaz de audio, tuve que comprar un par de adaptadores para poder conectar el cannon al mini-plug, sin dejar de sentir cierto dolor, ya que pierdo muchas frecuencias en el proceso...



 
El siguiente problema a resolver fue el ruido. Vivo en plena avenida. Los carros y sobre todo las motos pasan haciendo un enorme ruido arruinando de esta manera las tomas. A eso le sumamos que la sala tiene un enorme balcón que filtra cualquier sonido con facilidad.
 



 
La solución fue sencilla, aceptar el ruido y vivir con él. Lamentablemente no pude mudar el edificio de sitio, o conseguir muchos colchones con qué aislar la sala. Por malo que sonara, esto me obligó a aprender a manejar un poco el ecualizador y algunos filtros del Reaper, así que al final gané experiencia gracias a los motorizados y cornetas.

La ejecución de la obra es interpretada por mi amada novia @luisanahernandez, y mi persona. Tuvimos poco tiempo para ensayar, y muchísimo menos para grabar; sin embargo, me siento bastante contento con el resultado.
Finalizada la grabación, procedí a trabajar en el audio. Borré todas las partes chistosas, yo peleando con la DAW para que grabara, yo arreglando la cámara del celular mientras @luisanahernandez me decía que me apurara; también borré el final del audio donde nos reíamos. De verdad que la pasamos bien grabando esto para ustedes, es una lástima que ya no tengo esos bloopers, hubiese sido divertido compartirlo con ustedes y reirnos juntos.

Luego de eso procedí a ecualizar la toma. Usé para las frecuencias altas una ganancia negativa tipo "band", la idea era disminuir lo más que se pudiese el ruido de fondo restándole el menor brillo posible a la flauta.



 
Intenté usar un filtro para eliminar por completo el ruido, pero sacrificaba demasiado el sonido de los instrumentos. Terminaba sonando muy artificial para mi gusto. Así que procedí a concentrarme en la reverberancia y el eco.

Es una música que solía tocarse en iglesias de techos altos, la acústica te daba una reverberancia y eco bastante amplios que, quise emular usando la DAW. Creo que fracasé, confieso que siento que se me fue la mano un poco, pero bueno; para ser mi primera vez, creo que no estuvo tan grave.
 



 


En fin... fue una experiencia maravillosa. Quisiera pedirles de todo corazón, a ustedes los productores musicales, que usen la casilla de comentarios para aconsejarme en el manejo de las artes oscuras de la grabración y edición. Quisiera aprender más para entregarles mejores trabajos que puedan disfrutar.

De nuevo le doy gracias a todos, y los dejo con el resultado final. Espero que les guste:



Sort:  

Este Post ha sido votado por delega, el trail de los delfines latinos, apoyando tu crecimiento y el contenido de calidad.



Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano, patrocinado por: @betamusic y @nnnarvaez. (si quieres formar parte, contactales)

Great work :) I love how well both of you compliment each other in the call and respond sections. Great balance and blend!

Thx so much to listen us @orm5000. Im glad you like it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by miguelvargas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thx @c-squared for support my music! i apreciate it a lot!

Congratulations on the Curie!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Yes, was awesome recieve this cuire vote. Thx to you too. I love your job to promote and support the classical music in Steemit. @classical-radio.

amigo de verdad te luciste, bueno, se lucieron, es impresionante lo que con talento y practica se puede llegar a tocar, de verdad te llega... sin palabras

muchas gracias @ang3l.geo. Para eso se trabaja duro, para intentar conseguir el mejor resultado final y entregárselo a todos ustedes. Gracias por escucharnos.

Verga en serio genial!! si no Bastaba con el tremendo temaso, los super datasos que nos distes valen por 1000 gracias sendo post!!

Me alegra que te haya gustado @jese. No creo que sea información muy útil, la puse porque me pareció bonito contar las anécdotas que nacieron de esa experiencia, pero la verdad es que yo no sé nada de producción jajaja. Por eso les pido en la publicación a los estimados productores que me den algún consejo para mejorar. Muchas gracias por escucharnos.

Hi miguelvargas,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much for this support! im really glad about it.

I love it! Keep more coming!

Thx To listen it @volareo! I will do it for sure.

Your post has been curated by @anouk.nox and highlighted in Music Today Issue #24 | A SMA Community Initiative because we find your post valuable for the Steem Music Alliance Community.

You will also receive 10 WhaleShares thanks to our sponsor. To get this please provide us with your Bitshares account name.

For more information about SMA Community, please read our Music Today post and come visit us on Discord

SMA.png

Please keep posting quality content!

@smacommunity

Wow, so many Thx @sma. I love your work in Steemit and recieve your support it is an honor to me. My bitshares account is: miguel-vargas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97