Open Mic Week 73 - Wings (Original) - naTHAN Kaye - ONE-MAN FESTIVAL

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

TURN YOUR VOLUME UP! (seriously though)

I penned this positive, fun, blues-rock tune to help open-minded listeners, like yourself, find that thing that puts the STEEM into your engine, that gives you the wings to fly high in life!
*Oops! I mindlessly wrote 'WINGS (cover)' in the video text, even though it's my own ORIGINAL composition! I guess I can multitask the instruments, but not the video editing. How embarrassing! Lol!

There's nothing more important than finding at least one thing that you're so passionate about that you're inspired to do it every day, no matter what because it bring joy into your life.

Finding that thing that gives you wings gives your life meaning and expression. And when you do that thing every day, you inevitably inspire those around you to also find and do their passion.

As with my previous performances, nothing is looped or pre-recorded in this one-man band performance. I am simultaneously playing the
"Violap" Lapsteel Slide guitar (co-designed by Ben Harper),
Slide-Didge (modern adaptation of the traditional Aboriginal wind instrument known most commonly as didgeridoo),
vocals and
electronic foot drums (homemade from wetsuit, plywood, guitar cables, and contact mics into a drum module).


Massive thanks to @luzcypher @krystle @soundlegion @passion-ground @verbal-d @pfunk & @meno for taking all that massive amount of time to judge & support musicians around planet Earth to shine here on this awesome platform. Extra thanks to @krystle & @benleemusic for inspiring me to enter Open Mic in the first place!


So dear friend reading this, I do hope you enjoy this performance!

Thanks so much for listening.
If you felt the vibe of this performance, please do upvote, resteem, follow @nathankaye and comment. I'd really love to hear from you.

Sort:  

Wow the intro alone was worthy of a Curie :) Great song, great idea to introduce us to the instruments and the technique, wonderful performance all around. This is one of the coolest things I have seen/heard on Steem blockchain!

My one year old son is standing here dancing and drumming madly on the chair next to me, he loves this song as well!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Thanks so much @carlnash !
And such a huge compliment that your little man was dancing and drumming to the tune too! Yay!

Re: Author Showcase post - that sounds rad! I'd be honoured!
I'll check out the example and give you a brief statement, but yes, you can quote text and feature images. No worries.
PS. I have never managed to get the search function on Steemit or Discord to work

Awesome, I will be writing up the post in around 24 hours from the moment I am typing this so if you can get me any statement before then it will be featured :) You can just reply here, sorry Discord / steemit.chat hasn't been playing nice with you. As last resort you can also just email me if you want as well, ye olde gmail with same username as here :) This was an amazing performance! You rock! Much love - Carl

Okedoke @carlgnash .
Is there any particular question or questions you'd like me to answer (that I can use as a trigger for the statement) so it flows better with what you're writing?

I usually do a paragraph about the poster and then write up a paragraph or two about the post we are featuring. Basically if you would prefer to write your own paragraph length bio you can take a stab at it - if not I will just write one up based on your posting here on Steem :) I am good at it so absolutely no pressure to write one yourself. Some people like the chance to have the platform because they have a specific project or cause to talk about. I am mostly just looking to acquaint the readers of the showcase post with you, and I have a feeling you have a wild tale or two in your past that informs who you are today ;) Much love - Carl

@carlgnash -It's not so much a bio as an expanded mission statement... hehe...

I believe we are all extraordinarily gifted and unique!

The difference between whether we live our dream or fantasise and hope for it, is action.
Since the beginning of my artistic career, I've been driven by a concept of fertilising the seeds of the dreams that exist inside of everyone, but I had to start with myself first. I call these the ‘dreamseeds.’

If every person is doing the thing (or rather things) that they truly love (that give them wings to fly high) on a quotidian basis, then they will be truly happy and won't have time or energy for stress, conflict, depression, war, boredom, intransigence, nefarious behaviour or worst of all, somnambulance.

When we do things we loathe, or even only kinda like, in order to get money to pay bills and debts, part of our spirit feels somewhat hollow and drained and that brings our energy and vibe down, and that negativity spirals down and spreads to those around us.

Conversely, when we do what we love most, our soul-purpose, then our disposition becomes energetic and happy, and that good stuff spirals up and spreads to everyone we come into contact with!

Not only that, but when we do what we love, we usually become really friggin’ good at it and therefore we do it really friggin’ well, which adds positive value to our community and our world!

By understanding that, it gave my personal artistic pursuits a sense of mission and higher vision, so that if I ever personally lost steam (or Steem, pardon the pun) for creating my art or if I found myself caught up in some kind of stress or drama, I could remind myself that 'it isn't about me, I'm on a mission! I have soul-purpose!’

In order for people to understand and receive what I’m transmitting I need to truly embody the truth of it, by being energetic, bold, unique and by truly enjoying what I create and do with veracity.

We can’t fix the problems in the world, economically, socially and environmentally, if we are not, ourselves, on a journey to fix and transform whatever problems that plague us inside, and that takes a positive shift in perspective.

So, find the thing that gives you wings to fly high in life!

And I’m not talking about drugs. Lol! Your passion is the best drug to get high on!

Was epic to be included in your list! Thanks so much, bro! 🙏🏽

Loading...

This is one of the coolest things I've heard on Open Mic! You have a new follower. Thanks for the great music man and keep 'em coming.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Woohoo! That’s so wonderful to hear! Thanks so much mate!
With that kind of encouragement I shall keep sharing, for sure.
Blessings!

Omg you rock dude!!! I have no idea how you play all those instruments at the same time! 👏🏼 awesome!

Thanks so much @donnaincancun !
🙏🏽

Yeah! I still feel the vibes! Amazing song and performance! I really dig your style of flying. :)

Thank you so much @melavie !
I loved the way you said, "I really dig your style of flying!" That put such a big smile on my face!
Blessings to you! 🙏🏽

pretty amazing man!

Thanks so much @lk666 @ !

Truly outstanding, mate! Loved the way you took us for an introductory spin in acquainting us with your most amazing rigs. Nice!

Thanks so much @passion-ground !
Yeah, over the years I realised that I needed to regularly take audiences on a tour through how I put the sounds together during a show because so many people just assumed I was either playing a backing track or looping things so I wanted them to get a grasp of the complexities involved.
Anyway, I'm happy you dug it!
😄🙏🏽

ohhh mister mister!!! you are a fucking rock star!! this is brilliant on sooo many levels. the things I could do with you..wooo

Haaaa! Woohoo!
🤘🎸🎼
Thank you so much @soundlegion! Your words excite me and flatter me!!!
Muchos gracios amiga!
But in truth, it's the brilliance in you that sees the brilliance in me and others!

PS. What things?

weeww really cool buddy. keep the spirit of post songs like this. I love it@nathankaye

hopefully you are always healthy in his protection

Thanks so much @herri !
Blessings to you too!

Wow! I'm so elated!
Did you lovely people see this? https://steemit.com/curation/@curie/curie-author-showcase-february-22nd-2018
I didn't know about this @Curie Author showcase until I shared this song.
Wow! The amazing things I keep discovering on Steemit through Open Mic...
Just amazing!
What a beautiful community!
😊🙏🏽🌟

@curie this post is quite inspiring,and everyone is got a potential that needs to be awaken and this potential is the strength that can fuel our passion,if yiu don't mind we can collaborate and do an informative posting that has to do with passion,talent,and skill.....please do well to upvost me I need support.

Hi @kingsleyemeka ! Thank you for the compliments. I'm glad you found it inspiring and connected with the message I was bringing forth.
I'm open to ideas of collaborations. Why don't you start with resteeming this post?
Blessings to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75