You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit OpenMic Week 119 | @minuetoacademy | Song to my Son (Cover)

in #openmic5 years ago

Hi @minuetoacademy, what a lovely song. You have played it so well that i could feel the emotion in the song. May I know what is the instrument you played in the right side of the video? I couldn't see it clearly maybe because of my computer.

Sort:  

Hi @oliviackl! it is always nice to know that the music that one plays, has generated some kind of emotion in the other. The instrument to the right of the video is a "Palo de Lluvia" (Rain Stick) or "Palo de Agua" (Water Stick). This is a hollow bamboo cane with seed filling, inside which sticks of bamboo or wood stick, forming a helicoid that extends all along. When the stick is gently tilted the pebbles or the seeds fall and its pounding with the sticks produces a sound that resembles rain or water falling. Its origin dates back to the indigenous peoples of the South American Amazon, however, archaeological remains have been found in pre-Inca cultures of the Peruvian coast and the central Andes. It is generally used to create ambient sound effects or as a percussion instrument.

I learn new thing from you today. This Rain stick made by yourself or it require skill to make it? The amount of seeds will affect the sound effect am I right. I first time learnt of this instrument and it interesting.

I bought it in the tourist city of Mérida, Venezuela, 5 years ago. I do not know the elaboration details, but surely it requires preparation to make a good rain stick, it must have its secrets. :) :) :)

All music instrument producer sure has the secret on how to make it. Now i interested to look out one , I hope it won't cost much in my country if I ale to find one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89