STEEMIT OPEN MIC Week 83 - original - Pants Off Dance

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic week 83. It's been awhile since I've seen Harry. I should probably check on that guy - I think the flu shot may have killed him! Here's another one of mine from several years back, when I heard about OBL's burial at sea. This song was supposed to be the next Macarena! I tried to get friends and family to send me videos of their interpretation of the moves as described in the lyrics so I could compile them into a nice video presentation, but they have no balls. It is a line dance with a short sequence of steps, which upon completion (if executed correctly) will have you facing 90 degrees off of your start position, whereupon you will commence to repeating the moves. I have an idea to make this a steemit contest of some sort, and am open to suggestions on how I might want to proceed with that. I'll start including lyrics in case someday one of you cover-a-steemian types finds this stuff interesting:

Pants Off Dance

We just discovered a song today
Right in the vein of her favorite cliche
Especially when we get to the part
Where I say, "Everybody dance"

You put your hands at the top of your waist
Then move 'em down while you're keeping pace
Then pull 'em up and jump around the place
Everybody dance

Everybody dance like we're keeping score
Everybody dance like we won the war
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance

We're playing this song from town to town
We're watching everybody take their pants down
They pull 'em up and then they jump around
Everybody dance

They put their hands at the top of their waists
Then move 'em down while they're keeping pace
They pull 'em up and jump around the place
Everybody dance

Everybody dance like you're clubbing a seal
Everybody dance like Osama was real
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance

Everybody dance like we're keeping score
Everybody dance like we won the war
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance

You might have some buttons
Some snaps or a string
Have you tried the zipper?
It is a common thing

(camera pans to dance party for 12 bars)

There was this once I heard somebody say,
"I take my pants off in a different way
Your song is stupid and the moves are gay
I'm not gonna dance!"

I told him, "Buddy, don't you fret or fear
There's no wrong way to take your pants off here
We welcome you to have your own interpretation
Of the dance!" As long as

Everybody dance like we're keeping score
Everybody dance like we won the war
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance

Everybody dance like you're clubbing a seal
Everybody dance like Osama was real
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance

Everybody dance like the bank is your friend
Everybody dance like we're nearing the end
Everybody dance like you're taking your pants off
Everybody dance
Everybody dance
Everybody dance

Before the band broke up it sounded like this.

I'm picking favorites:
(not specific to this week, but to #openmic)
@lecumberre, @bennettitalia, @wethepatsies anti-NWO, @thealarmed, @digitalopus is a master, @revdocwelch is oldschool, @honeymoon-1611, @moccamonica, @camusic, @fnux, @chaifm, @pipomontilla, @mrprecious, @gabrielkrupaz, @soykatonline rocks, @lorey-bero, @markaustin the looperman, @olvidesantelmo. These musicians bring the goods every time!

Sort:  

Hola @operahoser, espero que esté bien, pasandome por aqui para saludarlo. Good job, I liked so much, greetings from Venezuela.

You should participate in open mic again, my firend. Try it.

What a good theme, it sounds very good, it will be that my violin adapts to that style hehehe greetings great subject I liked. luck in the contest

I like your style :)


Congratulations @operahoser!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very fucking good, yes I can see a crowd dancing, so kewl.

I wish I could see a crowd dancing! I've seen a few people wiggle around to it - it doesn't get played in public these days :/

"I wish I could see a crowd dancing!" and "it doesn't get played in public these days"

Now it might just be me, but I think there's a link between the two somewhere. 😁

Anyways, I thought it was really cool mate.

I think some laughing or cheeky grins here and there would perhaps put the song over in that way that might draw people in, and make them listen and get behind you well with it, the way you'd like them to. 😉

Keeping a band together is the whole trick - I don't like playing by myself nearly as much ;)

I know what you mean bro. A good few years back, I found that I was reliant on a band to play live, and it's not always easy keeping bands together as you know. I built up solo blues/bluesy sets so that I'm a self-reliant working musician, but I also have the pleasure of my band, who've been together over 10yrs now. I only play a small number of gigs with my band each year which is really cool, it fits in with other band members busy schedules and family lives, but if I relied on that for all of my live playing it would frustrate the f*ck out of me. I do love solo perfomances, but whenever I play with the band it always seems like a real treat.

Always worth seeking new musician to work and collaborate with though, no? Cool songs like this one.

I do get to work with some fine musicians, and I have so much fun learning their songs I rarely get around to showing them mine. Harry (keys guy) writes most of our openmic stuff, and it's like he never runs out of good material - I'm definitely cool with the way things are going ;)

Well hey, that was FUN! Haha, I love it! Really dig that solo too :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Well, how 'bout them apples - did you randomly read it and then dance? This is recommended.

Hey! Technically, though, your statement is fact for me...

Which is why you are forgiven :)

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I enjoyed your interview on that thing :)

Love it @operahoser enjoyed that solo man! Cool lyrics. Man that song with get a crowd fired up.

Like a match in a vacuum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97