Steemit OpenMic Week 97 - @paintingangels - NEW original song - "Swim"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey! I wrote a new song. This is my third new song this year, I'm on FIRE. (Or at the very least just trying not to drown)

If you listened to Meno's Songwriter Shop Talk last week you might have heard the other new song I wrote, which is currently still named "Untitled." I was going to record a video for that one but I'm kind of disenchanted with the song already. So, anyway.. I just up and wrote a new one. How about that?

You've heard people say it's time to sink or swim, yes? I figured now is just about as good a time as any to write a song about that.

Keep your chin up, kiddos. Like they say, it's the only way to see the stars,

YouTube link:

p.s. I apologize for my blah attitude in the intro, it even seems kind of like I'm mocking the title of the song.. I was just frustrated.. lol. It's just that I had recorded this attempt several times before and kept screwing it up so really I just assumed that this would be a fail, too. But I am in a hurry gotta keep it!

Swim

Do you believe in love
like I believe in love?
Do you believe in me
like I believe in you?
Do you believe we'll swim
beyond this deep sea floor
or baby will we fall through
and sink down into the blue?

Sink down into the blue

Do you believe that time
can make our heartbeats rhyme?
Can we dance like stars?
Can we heal these scars?

Can we dance like stars?

How many times have I really had to ask?
I'm growing so tired of never knowing that.

We're like a broken shell
Baby, we've been through hell
We could be bullet proof
but I just don't know if you..

If you believe in love
like I believe in love
Do you believe in me
like I believe in you?

Do you believe in me?


©2018 @paintingangels (s. matthews)

Thanks to everyone who makes @openmic the beautiful wonderland of talent that it truly is.

And thanks to all the judges. Show some L♥VE!

@luzcypher

@krystle

@meno

@verbal-d

@passion-ground

@soundlegion



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Seeing you participating on open mic and again with a new baby song has made me happy, it's beautiful...
and by the way I agree, you're on fire... I actually liked the Untitled, don't let it die like a "thought at the dreams door", make it live as well... :)
wishing you all the very best, blessed to be able to see you writing songs again for all of us. :)

fufunchis hugs!

Awww, Pris you are the sweetest friend ever, you keep me more motivated to create music than anyone does and I love you for that, and so much more. THANK YOU!

Now, your turn! Week 98 is gonna be your week. Serena predicts it!

Same thing goes back to you...

hahah thanks for the encouragement but I kind of think yes it's about time :)

Oh, Serena! You got me again!
You really are on a roll with your song writing!

That makes me feel so happy you can't even know how much, Amber.
❤️❤️❤️ Thank you so much for listening to it. Big hugs!🍪🍪🍪

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

You won some Steem which you'll find in your wallet and also a 5-card packet of SteemMonster cards with your name on it you can find on SteemMonsters.com

Click here to see who won Open Mic week 97:

Steemit Open Mic Week 97 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Such a beautiful composition and performance, Serena...
Nice!


I believe in you, girlfriend! :-)

Aww thanks @passionground.. I believe in you too ❤️❤️❤️

Thanks so much Luzcypher! ♥

Thanks so much Heather! ♥

Wonderful song and amazing voice !!! Wow !

Wow thanks so much! I'm a big fan of your music as well! ♥♥♥

@paintingangels, your song was selected to be part of the initial collection set of trading cards for the album of Steemit OpenMic.
Congratulations !!

read more about:

So pretty!!! That's usually how my songs sound after weeks and weeks of working on them! (I wish... Haha!) You are so talented! Keep it up sweetie!!!

Thanks Jen! I thought you sounded PERFECT on Meno's show! ♥ And that preggers pic was EPIC! ♥♥♥♥

Haha! Thank you beautiful!!!

That looks wonderful great ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98