OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 74

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Summary

...Wow! Yet another fine week of outstanding music you’ve gotten us into here, @luzcypher. Thank you, my brother! My Top-5, as well as my Top-5 honorable mentions here in week 74, are all “Original Compositions!”

To be perfectly honest, I’m just a tad bit “blissfully-spent” insofar as following all of the wonderful entries here in week 74, alongside, of course, the deepest love and appreciation I felt in listening to and experiencing all of the incredible “Voices of Open-Mic” entries we’ve been accumulating of late.

So with that little bit said, following some further insights as to how I judge, let’s get it on, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 74

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luczypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @tomashofficial- “Here Nor There” - (Original)

The first thing I noticed here was Tom’s rather skillful guitar intro, - and in a non-standard “custom tuning” no less! Thereafter, the lyrics and melody he begins to sing in the first verse have all of the earmarks of an instant “hit!”

Not only is this song truly outstanding by every artistic measure, what truly takes this performance over the top, are Tom’s dominance and mastery of his instrument, which he exhibits while flawlessly man-handling his guitar with an extraordinary level of grace and swag that is strikingly captivating, and simply a pleasure to behold.

The way he drops his left hand in rhythm with the music and returns it precisely where it needs to be without missing a beat is truly jaw-dropping – along of course with his incredible finger-picking!

His instrumental bridge is unique and it tied the whole composition together quite beautifully. The false ending is pure icing on the cake – what a fantastic effect!

Everyone really needs to listen to, study, and watch this one very closely. There is so much here to be in awe of, and so much here to learn from.

This is pure entertainment and artistry across the board! Quite a stellar composition and performance, Tom! Awesome, brother! This one is worthy of a “Golden-Mic Award!”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tomashofficial/steemit-open-mic-week-74-neither-here-nor-there-original-tom-ash

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @chimtivers96 – "Scratch" - (Original)


I’m tellin ya, brothers and sisters, @chimtivers96 really scratched our backs quite nicely this week with his original composition and performance of “Scratch!” Just a great tune with catchy vocal melodies and steady rhythm guitar perfectly suited for the song. That’s why he’s here in my number 2 spot here in week 74. Great work, @chimtivers96!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@chimtivers96/steemit-open-mic-week-74-scratch-original-song-by-chimtivers96

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @nathankaye – "Lucky Man Story" - (Orginal)


Nathan Kaye is just crazy talented – period! In addition to all of his artistic ability, he has been blessed with the gifts of a skilled entertainer! The live sound he creates as a one-man-band is over-the-top captivating, and such a joy to behold! He also possesses a quite polished ability to speak and tell stories in rather engaging fashion, all whilst never missing a beat of the underlying entertainment occurring amid the accompanying music he simultaneously performs. His original, “Lucky Man Story,” is the epitome of such extraordinary talents; there isn’t a song more appropriate to showcase the sheer wonder that is Nathan Kaye! Loved this every which way from Sunday, mate! “Strailia” & “Murika” – what a winning combination! And, it’s over!! Ha! Quite brilliant, Nathan!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@nathankaye/steemit-open-mic-week-74-funny-story-funky-didge-lapsteel-slide-1-man-band-lucky-man-story-nathan-kaye

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @chaifm – "When I Go" - (Original)


I suspect that @chaifm has been rather busy of late. It has been quite some time since she’s submitted an Open-Mic entry. So when I saw that she submitted this week, I was anxious to see what she had in store for us. Well, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that she decided to dust off an old original composition of hers, and perform it here in week 74! This is classic @chaifm, replete with her infamously haunting vocal melodies and her sweet accompanying guitar. I’m so happy she dusted this one off and shared it with us. This is such a lovely composition and beautiful performance, @chaifm, I truly loved it!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@chaifm/steemit-openmic-week-74-when-i-go-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @trevorpetrie – "Flightless Child" - (Original)


The story behind this song is a sad one describing what far too many of us experience at one time or another throughout the course of our lifetimes – anxiety & depression. For some, there are just brief bouts with this insidious condition, and for others, it’s an ongoing lifelong challenge. Trevor most eloquently speaks to this condition within his lyrical disdain, subtle guidance, and questions of empathy and understanding, along with closing on notes of hope and promise for the future. All of Trevor’s rather modest warnings about having a cold and difficult chord sequences were completely unwarranted. You rocked this, mate! The moment his fingers began to move about his instrument bringing forth such beautiful sounds, I heard nothing short of perfection! Likewise, his well-calibrated vocal expressions within his wonderfully crafted melodies delivered everything a listener could hope for and more! Another beautiful, passion-filled song of love and empathy, my brother! I loved it, man!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@trevorpetrie/steemit-open-mic-week-74-original-song-flightless-child

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @markaustin – "Journey Without Distance" - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@markaustin/steemit-openmic-week-74-original-journey-without-distance

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@melodeons, @pedromrmourato, @melissakellie, @builtinfire, @vera.carla, @carlgnash, @paintingangels, @nirtsfaty, @edenmichelle, @yusaymon, @uvalunera, @edwardstobia, @danshawmusic, @zipporah, @lucybanks, @petrajordan, @queenbee, @operahoser, @maerod, @rial17, and @tarotbyfergus.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@addiesworld, @honeymoon-1611, @byrongrant, @shaktisun, @bennettitalia, @alvaro017, @roman.musica, @siomarasalmeron, @puralife, @martinsandersuk, @gibber, @mcmusic, @rodrigocabrera, @jonsnoww, @lk666, @raci, @steevc, @abisaiycristina, @kkarenmp, @kkarenmp, @gaborockstar, @donatello, @malvarezmusic, @jgvinstl, @yoi, @drewley, @williansjmm, @crisvalquin, @coruscate, @nelsooona, @tfeldman, @esaug, @guifaquetti, @solburgos, @lerpdrummerboy, @ibramusic, @andrewmarkmusic, @jonsmontero, @rypo01, @elisonr13, @bisodun, @wethepatsies, @pollocyber, @klynic, @teukurobbybinor, @digitalopus, @badcamper, @rho-sama, @marcusings, @smollrecord, @carrion, @beethoven10, @afroadrianv, @nestorchacin, @marioslash13, @ridimic1, @musiccircle, @sambalat1, @scottone, @pechichemena, @camuel, @williamsreinoso, @laviq, @shaularosa, @ljv, and @armoniritmia, @brendahcaroline.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Hey brother!
Thanks for the Honourable Mention this week!
I'm so happy to be sharing my soul with the Open mic community!
Kindest
@mrbloom

You are most welcome, Darren! I for one look forward to taking in a little slice of your soul each and every week, mate! The Open-Mic Community loves you just as much as you love it - that you can count on, my brother!


Wow! Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate!
I made your top 5!!!!!
Woohoo! (I’m kangaroo hopping around my studio!)
Number 3 even!! Wowsers!
And your words melted like butter in my soul! Dude! Thank you! (“Loved this every which way from
Sunday!” You’re an honorary Aussie now!)

Especially amidst such a plethora of incredible acts who’s entries were stellar this week, it’s such an honour to receive this kind of acknowledgment from you and I’m hugely grateful for it!

I knew it was risky doing a non-genre specific blend of song and storytelling style of original (in fact, it’s quite a kooky thing to do! Lol!), but somehow I knew that you’d particularly ‘get it’ and understand why it’s just as an important type of artistic expression to share as a normal type of song is.

Each week I feel closer to this incredible Steemit Open Mic community and being embraced like this makes all the years of hard work feel worth it. And after a couple of years of struggle it feels wonderful to have found and be so warmly welcomed by this creative blockchain family.

Thank you for all the many hours you put in to sort through and adjudicate all the many entries, sir!
It’s no mean feat!
Blows my mind!

And blessings to all the people who’ve put their heart and soul and skill into their performances. My hats off to you all!

Keep creating your art with passion!


🙏🏽⭐️🎶💚🤟🏽🤘🏽👌🏽🎼🌟💫😎😀😃😄😁😆🤙🏽🤙🏽🤙🏽


Nathan, thanks so much for recognizing the efforts and talents of all involved - you get it, brother - and that's a beautiful thing, man!

Thanks so much for adding me in your top 5! Being here on Steemit has been a beautiful experience and the open mic has always been the highlight :) your support means the world to me and I can't do anything but strive to support people the way you have supported me in the future. Much appreciated! ❤

What nice things to say, and what a great way to feel! Thanks, @chimtivers96!

Thanks for the mention, @passion-ground! So much great talent here on Steemit! Honored t be noticed again ;)

PJ, it is so kind, gracious, and humble of you to be able to look outside of yourself and recognize all of the talent here, which most amazingly, is on par with your own, which in and of itself, is rather extraordinary by every measure! You will never again go unnoticed, girlfriend, not here, and not by me, anyway... xxx Much love, PJ!

Hey passion, thank you so much, for the lovely words. That was really encouraging to hear, I was kind of giving up on steemit, as with so many new people coming I just felt it was getting a bit too chaotic for me, and a bit too hard to connect with others in the ocean of so many entries. Thank you :)

Glad you didn't toss in the towel, @chaifm! I always look forward to checking out your music, and I'm sure I'm not alone in that. I suspect you have many potential fans here that have yet to see your work. Thanks for your comment!

Thanks for the shout out bro, it has been an honor to play here

A thousand thanks for the mention, my friend, it is always a pleasure to make and share music with the whole community. I send a big greeting to you and to the entire Open Mic team.

Thank you, brother - and thanks for being such a great part of it!

You have a lot of beautiful gems and talent listed here as well brother. So glad we are all on a team to cover different areas and genres, there are just too many to choose from, and the judging is getting more difficult as our fellow Steemians up their game! Keep making an impact, people look up to you indeed

Thank you so very much for the shout out ♥ I'm sure I speak for everyone when I say we appreciate the time and effort you put forth to mention so many people. I know it takes a lot of time! High-five to you! : )

So nice of you to say... I appreciate that very much, thank you!

Awesome! Thanks for the mention @passion-ground! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82