OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 75

in #openmic6 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Summary

...So here it is, only Wednesday, and I’m already starting my Top-5 commentary! While it’s all still fresh in my emotion, I just wanted to share just how much each individual artist means to me. Sure, I can easily become disappointed about the lack of support from STEEMIT’s Whales or Witnesses - or frustrated and down about any other of a variety of administrative challenges. No doubt! However, when I click on “play” to watch and hear each of you playing and singing your hearts out – all that negativity goes away for me – and I become one with all of you and your music, and that’s such a very beautiful thing for me, thank you all for that, from the bottom of my heart.

Fast forward, and now it’s Saturday night, and I’ve just finished ordering my “Top-10,” “Honorable Mentions,” and all of my extensive “Shout Outs” for the week. I have to tell everyone just how proud I am of my selections and mentions. Before submitting, I listen to each of them in order (as should each of you) and I just sit back in utter amazement as to how great each and every one of these entries truly is. They are MY PEOPLE, man - week in and week out – they keep me grounded, humbled, and forever impassioned. Please do take the time to listen to each of these artists, I am quite certain that you will be glad that you did!

So with that little bit said, following some further insights as to how I judge, let’s get it on, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 75

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luczypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @pedromrmourato - "There Is Love" - (Original)

I mean, come on, man – this performance is simply “the BOMB!”. You just have to listen, people – shortly thereafter, there will be no doubt that this particular entry was far and away the standout amongst all of the top tier entries for week #75. You guys killed it here, dudes – NICE @pedromrmourato!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@pedromrmourato/steemit-openmic-week-75-there-is-love-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @pechichemena – "Sendas del Pasado" - (Original)


Pechiche is one of my all-time favorite STEEMIT Open-Mic artists! This is no secret by any means. Pechiche has recently been stretching himself outside of his comfort zone, which is a good thing. However, this week, my man, Pechiche returned to his comfort zone and knocked it out of the park! I’m telling you, people, you owe it to yourself to take 4-minutes and listen in awe to the pure magic that is @pechichemena!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@pechichemena/steemit-open-mic-week-75-sendas-del-pasado-pechiche-mena-original-song
Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @petrajordan – "City At Night" - (original)


PJ, as I like to call her, is a relative newcomer to the Open-Mic. Here in week 75, she graces us with the first of hopefully many more original songs! PJ is a true artist, and you really must hit play and listen to her “City at Night” composition to fully appreciate the talent, creativity, and artistry that this special individual has been blessed with. You go, PJ!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@petrajordan/steemit-open-mic-week-75-city-at-night-original-by-petrajordan

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @danieldyemusic – "Georgia" - (Original)


Wow, man! Daniel and Ben collaborating yet again! I was just taken by the lyrical content, the melodic transitions, and yes – the harmonies, and well, yeah, Ben’s skills with the brushes on that golden drum kit! Folks, you most definitely need to click play here people, and check out one of the finest Open-Mic Collaborations to date! Beautiful work, Daniel & Ben!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@danieldyemusic/steemit-openmic-week-75-original-song-georgia-with-ben-lee

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @mightyjoenolan – "San Francisco Girl" - (Original)


I’m tellin’ ya, man – I just LOVE Mighty-Joe-Nolan! He’s got the musical spirit of Bob Dylan and Cat Stevens running through his veins – and man, what a special gift that is! His lyrics in “San Francisco Girl” in concert with his structured melodic transitions and driving rhythms are truly something to behold. You definitely want to hit play here, people. Might Joe rocks, and rarely disappoints. Check him out, Steemians!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mightyjoenolan/steemit-open-mic-week-75-original-song-san-francisco-girl

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @thesimpson – "Needle and the Damage Done" - (Cover)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@thesimpson/steemit-open-mic-week-75-needle-and-the-damage-done-thesimpson

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@kayclarity, @tomashofficial, @tfeldman, @maerod, @abelfernandez, @juliolunar, @rodrigocabrera, @rhavi, @paintingangels, @disclaimerhffmn, @donroberts, @cezanne, @wethepatsies, @luisferchav, @ed-the-songster, @klynic, @silviagoh, @alejandra23, @mrbloom, and @danshawmusic.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@pollocyber, @markaustin, @cutramadhani, @brendahcaroline, @chaifm, @badcamper, @caracortada, @rial17, @jgvinstl, @lillym, @edenmichelle, @builtinfire, @drewsmusic, @ceparl, @gaborockstar, @luisortiz.a18, @mcmusic, @gabrielinho, @musiccircle, @malvarezmusic, @elisonr13, @steevc, @mosdad, @melodeons, @proxytech, @honeymoon-1611, @kaizag, @yoi, @lk666, @prayer11, @jonsnoww, @cesaralejandro, @drewley, @jaredkhamanah, @coruscate, @fafavasquez, @donirosayandi, @gemdi, @temistocles123, @rafapercussion, @williansjmm, @olivercuico, @narta, @donatello, @guifaquetti, @palmimusic, @wilins, @nelsooona, @baiver86, @jphogan2k9, @fnux, @davidfar, @andreag, @teukurobbybinor, @steemmatt, @roman.musica, @edwardstobia, @leomolina, @dhannabao, @luispc89, @jumpmaster, @acousticsteveo, @belenlopr, @manurodriguez, @gibber, @silentscreamer, @camuel, @andii, @smollrecord, @paulove, @graceleon, @armoniritmia, @andrewmarkmusic, @chrisroberts, @chimtivers96, @itinerantartist, @martinsandersuk, and last but not least, @mrprecious!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Thanks for introducing me to @pechichemena - My heart is melting as I listen to his tune and write this. He's totally nailing the Elliot Smith vibe to at T. I can't even begin to thank you for the work you do @passion-ground !

You are so welcome, my brother! Glad you are enjoying "the Pechiche!" Thanks for appreciating all of the love and dedication that goes into all of this, man - it means the world to me!

Holy cow ! @spaceballoon ! your comment just made my day ! :D Elliot Smith is one of my favorite songwriters , I must confess I discovered him just a couple years ago .. but his music and soft approach is just so powerful! getting a comparison to him just dropped me dead :P ! And @passion-ground , thank you so much for including me in your Top 5 this week , i keep saying it , the level of musicianship here is getting higher and higher , it is an absolute honor and joy to appear besides these talented people, musicians and friends! As always , I admire your dedication and passion to music ! and all the support you give to all of us in the open mic family ! Big cheers to you my brother !

Great choices. Totally agree with the number 1. I see someone else took a stab at needle and the damage done...okay okay haha. Nice work here!

haha... Thank you, Doc! :-)

THANK YOU @ passion-ground for having enjoyed as much as we did our presentation made with so much love for you. At the end of the day, this is the purpose of doing openmic, it is fun, it is enjoying music, it is living it, it is feeling it. Thank you./GRACIAS @passion-ground por haber disfrutado tanto como nosotros de nuestra presentación hecha con tanto amor para ustedes. Al fin y al cabo, esta es la finalidad de hacer openmic, es divertirse, es disfrutar la musica, es vivirla, es sentirla. Gracias.

Such beautiful words and sentiments - you are most welcome and thank you so much @graceleon, for your artistic presence within this very special community!

Your accurate comments and the support you give us, are vital for all the artists that we put our music on this platform. I send you a big hug and I thank you again for the mention. Greetings my Brother!

You are most welcome @malvarez! Thank you for such kind words, brother!

So amazing to see my name on the top of your list! Thanks a lot again, man!

You got it, brothers! There's just no escaping how awesome your collective artistry truly is! Hat's off to you and all those who have collaborated with you in making such awesome music, man! Keep it coming, dudes!!

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate your special shout out! Congratulation to the rest of the contestants, you rock guuys! I learn a lot every day.

Incredible this top 5, and the honorable mentions are amazing!

Kind of regards to everyone.

You are quite welcome, @manurodriguez! So very nice of you to say... Thank you so much, and my best to you as well, brother!

Thanks for the shout out!

Always quite welcome, @camuel! Thank you, mate!

Thank you so much @passion-ground, for both your kind words and hard work. You judges amaze me every week with your consistency and tenacity. Thanks again for all you do.

You are so welcome, Daniel! Thank you for all of your amazing contributions and collaborations - they are priceless, brother!

thank you for honoring us as musicians and artists - its the highest achievement and reward of all when your art touches someone in a special way. i also found a few performances here that are so lovely that i missed on the post, some really incredible talent!

and lastly - the time and energy you put into this each and every week - and the processes you've put in place to be fair to the masses of artists - well, it is mind boggling. a big thank you from behalf of all the artists. we wouldn't have the platform or processes to produce this music without you all. in fact, i stopped writing music a few months ago and the steemit open mic has inspired me so much - I've actually written two new songs just because from the open mic enthusiasm itself! and the comments, and nods and people showing their love and appreciation - well it just keeps snowballing from there. its obvious i need to turn this into a bigger post in general - working on it :)

Thank you for the props @itinerantarist! So glad you're writing and enjoying music again!

What an honor to be on your "Very Special Shout Out" list, bro. It's so incredible to find this out because I made that cover of "Wish You Were Here" just for fun, just for having the experience of singing that beautiful song. I'm not even a singer... I'm just an instrumentist. That mention made my day. Thank you very much!

Glad it made your day, brother! Your performance certainly made mine, and I'm sure many others! Keep on rockin' it baby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61