Steemit Open Mic Week 57 entry - @paulhallman - Me and Julio Down By the Schoolyard (Paul Simon cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

Trimming season here in Colorado has had my allergies going for a second time this year. Back home in Florida all I had to worry about was spring pollen. So I haven't really been in any condition to sing for the last couple of weeks. Even in this video I can hear the fact that my sinuses have recently been to hell and back. But at least I'm clear, and I didn't want to wait another week to enter Open Mic even if this entry is probably too late to get much exposure before the deadline. It's just about playing for each other anyway; winning is just gravy.

This week I'm going with one of my old favorites from Paul Simon. Next week I'll have an original song to enter.

Sort:  

Dude, this was an absolutely fantastic cover, man! Loved it! ... the ending was just icing on the cake! That right hand of yours has got a mind and life of its own... and its right on the money!

Thanks @passion-ground! It's definitely a fun song to play! When I play this, I always have that skit from SNL in my head with Paul Simon playing basketball with a Harlem Globetrotter while this song played.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Congratulations @paulhallman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This song bring back memories for me. My parents had a couple of albums of Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel. Listened to this song many many times back then when I was a kid. Nice version you've done!

Congratulations @paulhallman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60