Steemit Open Mic Week 58 entry - Voices (original song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

If you ever find yourself writing a song like this about yourself, stop what you are doing immediately. By all means finish writing the song and keep it if it's good, but stop what you are doing in life that made those lyrics seem like a sensible way to think.

I wrote this song when I was nineteen. I was holed up in a practice room at the Armed Forces School of Music for my required daily three hour practice session, but I didn’t get a lick of guitar practice done. A little nugget of a song idea came to me, and within about 20 minutes I had a full song written. For the rest of my practice session I just kept playing my new song over and over, hammering the melody down right where I wanted it. The lyrics weren’t abstract, they weren’t fiction. It had just happened, and after I nailed the song down I went down the hall to my girlfriend’s practice room so I could play her the song I had just written about her.

This was back when the only way I knew how to write was about my own feelings. I blame grunge for that. Nowadays I prefer getting into other people’s heads when I write lyrics, or simply writing with striking metaphors that are mysterious even to me. This song was written with the stupidly innocent belief that everything was going to be okay. The song was earnest at the time, but now I consider it to be sarcastic. I’ve considered calling it “Voices (Ballad of Denial)” to reflect this, but I don’t want people to think I mean “slow song” ballad when I actually mean “story” ballad. “Voices” is just snappier, like the song itself.

I never really play this song live, as it misses a lot when it’s just me on acoustic guitar. When I wrote it, I recorded it on my 4-track tape recorder with a shitty drum loop, an acoustic guitar part, a jazzy guitar solo, upright bass, and a PHENOMENAL piano part played by a fellow soldier at the School of Music. I’m going to do a new studio recording of it that does the song justice, but I cannot play piano anywhere near the level that my buddy did on that original demo years ago. He has since played with the likes of Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson, and he dropped off of Facebook a while back. I’ve got to find a piano player that can throw down like that before I can get a new recording going. In the meantime, here’s the song performed solo acoustic, with a more jaded heart than the one that created it 21 years ago.

Sort:  

I told my psychiatrist that I hear voices in my head.
He told me that I don't have a psychiatrist.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Whoa – Paul, this is a GREAT composition… I most definitely had voices in my head at 19 as well – both literally and figuratively! Ha!

Though our minds may well be a bit jaded today, I truly believe that all of the beautiful sentiments to which you refer in this piece, shall remain forever ingrained within the purest elements of our hearts. Very NICE, brother! Loved it!!

Thanks man! Yeah, the chorus sentiments can be taken seriously or with a smirk. In general, living by your heart is the way to be. But sometimes you gotta listen to that IQ, and past experience.

I hear ya, bro... It is what it is... but IMO, way deep down - the purity persists... :-)

Like it a lot man!

Thank you so much!

Great composition! You have a lot of heart and emotion when you play too. Thanks for sharing your story with us by playing this song!

Thank you so much @coruscate!

WOW! great composition sir..

STEEMIT ACHIEVERS PHILIPPINES
Soar High Be An Inspiration


you may check my entry to sir as you like., hehehe

STEEMIT ACHIEVERS PHILIPPINES
Soar High Be An Inspiration


I like the song! Got me a little dancing in my chair while reading your post and writing this comment; Thanks :)

Thank you! Glad I could help bring some dancing into your day!

Thank you :)

Nice song and chords. I found myself humming a bassline along to it!

Thanks! I'm hoping I can play a good bassline for it when I record it. On the original demo, the amazing piano player also played the bass, and it was a jazzy walking bassline. I've never really played walking bass, so it remains to be seen how well I'll be able to do it for the recording. When this song is put together with all instruments, it's sort of a jazzy pop song.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60