Steemit Open Mic Week 67 entry - Look At Us (cover)

in #openmic6 years ago


Thanks to a post-Christmas vacation back home in Florida, I've gotten to make some music with friends both old and new. Which sort of makes up for it being nearly as cold as it was in Colorado when I left.

Now I'm not super into country, so I wasn't familiar with this song at all when I heard John Prine's version on a Spotify playlist while driving to Jacksonville a few days ago. I thought I had discovered something new and offbeat, and I sent the song to my friend Kelly to see what she thought of it. Well, she already knew and loved the original by Vince Gill. We had planned on doing a video for Steemit Open Mic while I was home, and this song turned out to be the one we had the most fun with.


My Studio Recordings on Steemit


Dirty Games (original)

Mountains (original)

How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart?

Cecilia

To Ramona

The Bends

Like Spinning Plates

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Look at you two, what a harmonious pair :))

Upvoted! Keep it up. Mad respect for musicians!

hi five great job !

I love it you guys. Sound really good together.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Great voices!l Sounds amazing Guys!!

Thank you so much!

Look at you two! This is great, Paul & Kelly! You guy's just laid it down just how it needed to be! Really enjoyed this, guys! Thank you!

Thanks man! Wish I'd gotten more recorded with her on this trip.

beautifully sang! thanks guys for performing for us, lovely voices great song with good energy. wonderful duet harm work

Thank you so much!

wow sir Paul and mam Kelly there you are with a lovely cover.. God Bless You both and your family as well.

You as well. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80