You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit OpenMic Week 85 - "Goodnight, My Love, Goodnight" (original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This is beautiful @lillywilton , I heard this one first on the radio show and had to come here to give it a second listen ( and third ..and... ) . I'm not the biggest ukelele fan BUT it worked perfectly for this song , I can't imagine it better accompanied with another instrument , it adds a little touch of ''innocence'' that I like as a contrast to your lyrics .

" I eat poison now for breakfast.
But sometimes bagels suit me, too.
I try to put it down, then I hear you coming round...
And poison seems to soothe. "

I love the language simplicity in general but there is a little ''extra bite'' along those lines... love it .

Also, the harmony you proposed here gives it a little bit of an old school vibe , some harmony that might have been used around the 60s , those little chord movements , I believe those could have been picked up from older soundtracks , along the lines of ''When you wish upon a star'' or ''Someday my Prince will come''. ;) I'm a fan of those tunes btw .

Thank you for sharing , hope to listen to more of your music soon :) !

Sort:  

Ohmygod @pechichemena. That means the world to read that commentary from you. Thank you so much for including those details of how you interpreted the song. It’s super cool to read that from another artist! ❤️ Thank you for making my day a little better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88