Steemit Open Mic Week 77 - Original Song "Let Go"

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey Steemit! I have an original song for you all as my entry for this week's contest! This is a song I wrote a few years back about my battle with depression. I will have the lyrics below. Thank you so much for watching!!!

Also, a BIG shout out to @luzcypher and @pfunk as well as all of the judges for hosting this contest and all of the long hours spent listening to each entry!

Lyrics:
Rain, rain, falling down on my pane....
Wash these blues away for another day.
It gets so dark and lonely, oh it's so cold...
All these pent up, angry feelings, they get so bold...

I'd try to suppress them if I could...
But my meek and timid ways do me no good...
Like a fire burning wild within my soul...
It won't let go...

Rain, rain, wash away my doubt...
Take these insides... and beat them out...
It's a rage, rage, everyday with my brain.
If I'm just made this way, I think I'd go insane...

I'd try to suppress it if I could...
But my meek and timid ways do me no good...
Like a fire burning wild within my soul...
It won't let go...

Rain, rain, falling down on my grave...
You left me pale and hollow in this wooden cage...
And it's so dark and lonely, oh it's so cold...
And all that darkness finally swallowed me whole...

I'd try to suppress it if I could...
But my meek and timid ways do me no good...
Like a fire burning wild within my soul...
It won't let go...

Sorry about my guitar buzzing here and there... I really need to take it to the shop and have it all sorted out. But thank you again for checking it out!

Sort:  

Love your song and voice.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you so much!!! I missed open mic. Came prepared this week though.

Loved the way you laid this one down, Sally... Nice!

Hey, you've got it going on, girlie. Minor songs always steal my heart, of course. I love your attitude and the growl in your voice when you're really feeeeeling it. I wanna go burn a house down with you or something. Not really, but, yeah. I mean maybe, if the time is right. If they deserve it. No house for them.

This is probably the best comment ever! Haha!!! I love it. Thank you so much for your support! It reminds me of a song by The Dead Milkmen - If You Love Someone Set Them on Fire.... where they talk about burning a house down. I am no pyromaniac though. I just love music!!! Thank you again!!!

wooooow!!! i likedd!!!!

Beautiful as always love! Sorry that your having problems with the guitar... mine needs some TLC as well. I've got new strings but it needs some major adjustments! Hehe!

I want to get the action lowered on my guitar. Just found out i am losing my job next week (business is closing down) so i have no idea when i will be able to get it all done now. Blah!

Damn... that sucks!!! :(

Sound good @sallyswitchblade i like you. I like your music.

I like it! I like your voice. I need to get my guitars in the shop too!

The pickups are borked.

Before I can livestream I want to make sure I can get that under control. That and getting Studio One to work with OBS for said livestream.

I look forward to hearing more music from you!

Thank you! I have yet to take my guitar to the shop, but i just found out that i am losing my job so it may be a minite before i am in full working order. That aside, i am going to try to keep posting!!!

Love hearing your original tunes! Your voice is like butter ;) Haha, Annabel also approves. She loved it!

I wish my vote was worth more or than i could upvote this a few more times. Haha. I love you guys! Thank Annabel for her support! I love and miss you all! Also, tell Maci she is awesome too!

really feeling it this week, great vocal love the guitar swag and feeling of this piece on your voice, awesome song

Thank you for listening! I appreciate your feedback!!

Great job! Hey I have a discord group for indie artists to gather, lete know if interested!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56