OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 8 - Sweet Farewell [Original song written for the theme: Till we meet again]

in #openmic6 years ago

Fresh off the Presh!
I really just wanted to get on and post this asap. So I didn't practice a ton, and it ain't perfect, but I wanted it to just be real and now. I was almost too late last week, and now this is even too early for Openmic Week 68! (I'll make a post for that in a couple of days)
Anyway, the Songwriters Challenge has done so much for me over the past few weeks. I honestly had stopped sharing my music, and had let the musical landscape within me dry up and become almost a desert. I started playing piano again fairly recently, and then someone close to me kept going on about Steemit, until I could no longer not-be involved.

This community's support has done more than just to give praise to my songs, it has instilled in me a sense of creative acknowledgement among us all, and seeing us all in it together has allowed me to let the little stream of music flow through me again. And this time it flows from and to a good place.

sazzler openmic W8 (2).jpg

Week 8's theme was: Till we meet again. Which is befitting since this is the final week of the challenge. This song is bittersweet, but maybe you can decide what it means for you.

Here is the song I wrote for this week; 'Sweet Farewell' (Feel free to skip to 0:59 past my Thankyou message at the start):

LYRICS:

Ain't nothing like a fresh start
I almost forgot who you are
The road binds me on and on
Sweet farewell, oh so long

Oh brother I don't know what to say
It feels like yesterday
But I guess you hide the pain
And there it stays til we meet again

And I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too

Did you find it off the beaten track?
You made/took a ride there and never coming back
You said, please don't care
But oh honey, that just isn't fair

Do you remember when I was a child
The whole summer running wild
Growing older is hard to do
But growing wiser is part of it too.

And I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too

I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too
Heaven's in it too.

...Well my peas, pods and esteemed greenies,
may my Gratitude, Blessings and Fractoliflowers carry you far into the Flipside.

Sazzler J xoxo

Sort:  

so beautiful song mam @sazzler.

such a cool tune! Great finale song sazzloid. I don't know WHAT it would take for you to get through to arnie though.....he looks totally unmoved. Must be that solid steel heart of his :)

Sooooooooooooooo freakin' beautiful! I loved it, loved it! ♥
Your voice is so sweet!

I fell in love with the chorus...'I guess that you can't tell...'
Beautiful singing and yes it's farewell for now with the songwriters challenge but I feel it brought us all closer going through the same challenge every week. So we definitely meet again!
And I agree, the opportunity to share your work here is so precious because an artist needs an audience and art needs to be seen, heard and experienced and not being locked away in a song/sketchbook or journal.

Nice song. Hope you join us in the weekly Open Mic contest now in its 67th week. Would love to hear you sing again.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

good song, I always follow the song you made, it seems I started to like you haha 😊

What an exquisite song. Your voice, your words, your recording... The soundscape you're creating is pure elegance and artistry, and I feel so fortunate to be among the first to hear it. Feels like I'm swimming in it. Upping and resteeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89