Steemit Openmic Week 92- “Buried in Images” an original song by me

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello?

This week while recording I got a bit lost in space. I think it might be the heat. Summer is definitely here in the northeast US and as usual it’s a bit slimy.

Buried in...

I wrote this tune a few weeks ago and it came out fast and smooth, which is exactly how I like my songwriting process to be. Also my bowel movements.
This song is about how so many of us spend our days lost in the past instead of being present. Changing this habit can be a really challenging process and requires years of deliberate practice and mindfulness throughout the day but the experience I am having with this process tells me that it is well worth the effort.

Images.

It also serves me as a reminder of how easy it is to lose ourselves in the sea of images presented to us by media and by each other. As an aspiring content creator myself this is something I’m a bit conflicted about. I guess I’m playing the dog that bites the hand that (perhaps one day) feeds it because I believe that consuming too much media is a bit of a problem nowadays. I guess the type of media consumed is also a big part of the problem though. Burying yourself in images of kitties pooping rainbows probably does a lot less damage mentally/emotionally/spiritually than images of exploding babies and bloodsoaked something or others.

Hopefully whatever I’m creating falls somewhere between those two and the destructive effect is a constructive deconstruction, perhaps by deconstructing the constructions constructed to obstruct ones potential. Yeah.

Here it is.

Here is a link to the version I submitted to @soundlegion’s Steemit Artists Music Compilation Volume 5 on Dsound:
https://mspsteem.com/dsound/@shookriya/20180704t175931895z-buried-in-images

(This message will now self destruct (the constructions of obstruction).)

Props and accolades to the awesome folks who bring this community into being every week. @pfunk @luzcypher @soundlegion @krystle @meno @passion-ground and @verbal-d as well as the folks at MSP-Waves Radio, Steem Monsters, and @curie, you all are awesome. Thank you.

Sort:  

Is never enough listening to your voice... you are talent! l u ♥

Thanks beau :)

Thank you my friend, I think my posts are steadily improving. Still lots to learn.


I love this
was singing along with you as I know the song well now off the SAMC Volume 5. I really really cant tell you enough how much i enjoyed the performance of this. I absolutely love the mp3 but there was a feeling off this live that cut it right through, amazing

Thank you =) there is always something about singing and playing thats is more authentic for me personally than when I record the tracks separately. Even though its cleaner the other way and I have more freedom, I don’t quite get it.

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Thank you Isaria, that is huge. I really appreciate it. =)

Wow. Thank you so much for sharing your talent. And what a voice.

Ah you are too kind =) It is my pleasure to share. If a beat dropped in the forest and there was no one there to hear it... hmm, my music needs a beat.

This particular piece is beautifully haunting. Moments of it remind me of a Kate Bush track (I hope you don't mind!)

Not at all, I wasn’t introduced to kate bush early enough to be very influenced by her but I do like her work. Very original and authentic.

Dude - this is intense and awesome! Smooth and free-flowing just like the "movements" we make daily... Most of which, as you allude in your post, are better off flushed! ahahahaah :-) Loved this, Shook!

Hah, the poo that wouldn’t flush... ;)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Cool vibe @shookriya

Like the capture of the upper-bass sound

Keep in touch and feel free to checkout my blog channel here on steemit or my website

Maybe someday you'll need a multi-ethninc instrumentalist for your albums/projects

Regards @shookriya

Thank you very much, I will take a listen to som eof your music =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94