Steemit OpenMic Week 73 ❍| Pulp Fiction/ Jovano Jovanke (Macedonian Traditional) |❍

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

opemic.jpg

...

My guitarist decided to join me in doing this weeks OpenMic. That way i was able to create something more violin intensive, with a smaller vocal part. This is a Medley of our own imagination. The part all of you will recognize instantly is the Pulp Fiction theme from the 1994 movie of the same name, directed by Quentin Tarantino.

The second part, that is dominant throughout the song is a traditional Macedonian #folk song called "Jovano Jovanke". I couldn't find its origins but the first studio recorded rendition, according to wikipedia, was done in 1946 by Aleksandar Sarievski.
The song is absolutely beautiful and really tugs on the heartstrings. Whatever ethnicity, cultural background, nationality you might be it really doesn't matter. Its hard to stay indifferent.

This is what the Balkans sound like.

To my friends from the Balkans this song doesn't really need any introduction, so you can just go ahead and skip to the end. 😇

I really hope i do the song justice and that you guys enjoy it. Consider it a introduction into musical tradition of a culture very similar or maybe quite different then your own.

And as always thanks to all my supporters here. You guys know who you are. 💗 💗 💗

...

...

ABABA.png

Sort:  

no joke this was awesome omg! LOVED

I didnt expect much of a reaction outside the classic:"oh you play the violin well." 😂
I guess music knows no borders when a Californian likes something like this. 😁

Beautiful and can't wait to hear more.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

As long as you guys keep doing the competition ill be coming back. Im not one of those: "drop an entry, take the moneys and run".
I live by the long term philosophy:"take all the moneys and keep taking it"... 😂😂😂😂
But seriously, now that i figured out the basics of recording audio ill be dropping in regularly. Thx for the double compliment. 😊

This song reminded me of my gypsy days traveling endlessly around the world. Beautiful, rich melodies and passion. Can't wait to hear more.

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

Steemit Open Mic Week 73 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Encore, encore!! - what a beautiful rendition of a corner in the truly human heart all true humans share...

@silentscreamer amazing dynamics and mute control on the violin :) exquisite vocals and overall great performance, kudos for the 7/8 👍

Hvala hvala. ❤

Great performance @silentscreamer, bravo and encore
I mention you in my judge's top list for week 73.
Check this to read the full
review here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-73-original-blog

Oh nice...❤.. And its the first pick. Wow. 😁

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 57 (2/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Choo choo to the moon. 😁❤
See ya guys on discord. Thanks for the pick. 😘

That was lovely!!! amazing dynamics!

Thank you. Glad you liked it. 😌

Beautiful violin, Marica. I love the folk song too. I did not understand it but it felt like the song is calling out to someone/something and then having the determination to go running towards that someone.

Haha. You are very close. Heres a crude translation. You almost guessed it. 😁

Jovano, Jovanke,
You sit by the Vardar
Bleaching your white linen
Bleaching your white linen, my dear,.
Looking at the hills

Jovano, jovanke,
I'm waiting for you
to come to my home
And you don't come, my dear
My heart, Jovano.

Jovano, jovanke,
Your mother
won't let you go
to come to me
My heart, Jovano.

Thanks for the translation. That's quite a sad tale :( They got a Romeo & Juliet thing going on.
But you are proven correct, even if I did not understand it, the music and feelings behind it are universal. Surely tugged my heart strings :)

Its even more sad considering the time it was written in 100-maybe even 200 years ago. The family dynamic was much more strict back then.
Even i didnt know what the lyrics were exactly before you asked. Haha. Their language is similar but not the same.

That violin went very well great job

Thank you. 😁
Ill try to do more stuff like this if i get a good reaction from the community. Who knows? I have only seen a few violinists here. Maybe a demand exists. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69156.99
ETH 3771.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44