Steemit Open Mic Week 74 - Clair de Lune

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I've been very sick and lost my voice for many days now but I don't wanna miss this week's #openmic entry so I decided to do something else that I love to do. Playing piano. :D As a child, we had a lot of dreams. One of my many dreams was to become a classical pianist.

For this week's entry, I'm gonna do a piece titled 'Clair de Lune' by Claude Debussy, a French classical composer. He was one of the most prominent figures associated with Impressionist Music.

Claude_Debussy_ca_1908,_foto_av_Félix_Nadar.jpg

Image source

So what is Impressionist Music? Impressionism in music is a movement among the Western composers, mostly during late 19th to early 20th, whose composition focuses on atmosphere and the subject itself rather than being strict on form and 'rules'. So to show the visual explanation of Impressionism and how it developed from the classical era, I will show you the work of an Impressionist artist called Claude Monet.

Angelica_Kauffmann_-_Venus_Induces_Helen_to_Fall_in_Love_with_Paris_-_WGA12099.jpg

Image source

This is an oil on canvas painting dated in 1790 by Angelica Kauffmann, a neoclassicism artist.

Claude_Monet,_Impression,_soleil_levant,_1872.jpg

Image source

Soleil Levant (Sun Rising), 1872, by Claude Monet

As you can see from both painting, it pictures the evolution from classicism​ to impressionism. Monet's painting captures​ a glimpse of an image as compared to Kauffmann's detailed and fine lined painting. So not to bore you with all the classical talk, here's me playing Clair de Lune. Hope you enjoy!

Banner Steem-Music (1000x400).jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

truly amazing. Just amazing performance. Following you

thanks! Glad that you like this :)

Hey. I just wanted to invite you to the Classical-music discord channel classical musicians hang out in.. Id also like to ask you something else if you would be up for it. Just say hi if you decide to join. https://discord.gg/WfUGM2

hi! yes i would love to be a part of it! <3

This is the permanent link!

https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

Great piano performance Silvia! I noticed you only used the openmic tag. I suggest you use other tags as to allow your post to have more exposure (you can put up to 5 tags) good job with your performance by the way and thanks for sharing it with us! 😀

Thanks @andywong31 for the tips. Appreciate it!! Will definitely improve on the post and edit my tags. Thanks for dropping by and listening. :)

glad to have helped! its my pleasure! keep on posting wonderful stuff here! see you around! :)

Superb piano playing @silviagoh. I love your version of Claire de Lune. I heard it a few times before played oh so softly but I'm really digging your power-filled rendition. Good luck to the Openmic contest!
I'm typing this comment at 12AM. And your beautiful piano would surely give me pleasant moonlit dreams. Thank you and good night!

thank you so much. guess my playing represents a stormy night :D

Thank you @luzcypher for hosting open mic every single week and listening to hundreds of our entries.

Congratulations @silviagoh, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 13894 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2707.50. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

awesome job sayang! 😍

awwww thankssss😘

So beautifully played, made my night more beautiful.

Thanks for dropping by yesterday definitely made my night beautiful too.😘 look forward to our dinner date soon!!!

My first time seeing you playing the piano!! Ahhhhh 😍😍😍😍 such a virtuoso ❤️❤️❤️

awww... this is so far from perfect! Will try better next time. <3

This is amazing! Your piano playing takes me to another world and this piece brings back a lot of memories for me and you did it justice!

Heyyyyy!!! Thanks! Glad to be sharing this special piece. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13