Steemit Open Mic Week 123 : Ode to the Vidiians of Star Trek:Voyager(original)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic Week 123 : Ode to the Vidiians(original)
Zskj9C56UonWToSX8tGXNY8jeXKSedJ2aRhGRj6HDecqriesU43Ass2tbAwi7sd36yJiLc4kxke5vG9Tuh57Qbiw2d2WUEfnxH6ddFoZA8jqWtTiYaDc copy.jpg

Happy New Moon Steemit.

This week for Open Mic, I'm doing an Ode to the scariest aliens of the Star Trek Universe, the Vidiians of Star Trek : Voyager.

vidiian2.jpg

This race has a disease that causes their tissue to decompose, so they harvest organs of other species to keep themselves alive.
Yikes...

The friendly face reference in the song is a reference to this scene with the same alien pictured above.
friendlyface.jpg

Poor Voyager stumbles across these folks while stranded 80,000 light years from home.



Full Lyrics :

You've rattled and rattled and rattled our cage
harvesting our organs trying to stave off The Phage.
All of that Dilithium turned out to be fake
when you met with Mr. Neelix and you just had to take
his breath away.

Never did expect such a terrible time
when we accidentally flew too close to Vidiia Prime.
We really are trying to be just passing through
because we're tired of this Delta Quadrant hulabaloo.

Please don't take my organs
I'd rather that my middle wasn't whittled away.
Please don't take my organs
If you wait I think the Kazon might be coming this way.

Why are you so crabby?
Because your face is flabby
but please don't be so grabby with my organs.

I know you think you'll need 'em
and I don't think you'll eat 'em
but I'd rather keep my guts away from your gun.

You've rattled and rattled and rattled our cage
B'Elanna Torres was beside herself when you did engage.
You tried to give her comfort and to ease all her doubt
You put on a friendly face, but it just creeped her out.

Please don't take my organs
though you've struggled with this puzzle for 2000 years.
Please don't take my organs
because we're needing all the pieces of our 2 engineers.
I'd really like to help you and I'm being sincere.
You should really find the Kazon, maybe they'd volunteer.


longlife2.jpg

Sort:  

I'm glad you were here:)

Very nice, tarotbyfergus!

Damn, with the title image I was not prepared about what is to follow! The Vidiians before breakfast!
This song however is one of your very best!
upvoted and resteemed and I hope my friends open this before breakfast as well 🤣🥞

Thanks Otto:)
I was hoping someone would get it:D

Also, I altered my title image a bit. Now at least the Star Trek fans should have reason to check it out:)

aha - well, I did not know it one way or another - but real fans would have known from the title.
I have no TV, and I have not watched any of it for decades. Watching mostly the movies that are playing in my head, haha.

Thisr must be weird movies:D

Congratulations @tarotbyfergus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97