Steemit OpenMic69 - Raggle Taggle Gypsy - Will Simpson

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Roma Story, follow this link

This song is one dear to my heart. I am Anglo Romany Gypsy and I learnt this song from an Irish friend of mine.

Three old gypsies came to our hall door,
They came brave and boldly ooo!
One sang high, the other sang low,
The lady sang a raggle taggle gypsy ooo!

Upstairs downstairs the lady went,
Put on her suit of leather ooo!
It was a cry all around her door,
She's away with a raggle taggle gypsy ooo!

It was late that night when the lord came in,
Enquiring for his lady ooo,
It was a cry all around the door,
She's away with a raggle taggle gypsy ooo!

Saddle for me my milk white stead,
My big horse is not speedy ooo!
And I will ride and seek my bride,
She's away with a raggle taggle gypsy oo!

He rode north and he rode south,
He rode east and west also,
When he rode to the wide open field,
It was there that he spied his lady ooo!

Yarra, why do you leave your house and your land,
Why do you leave your only wedded lord,
It was there last night you'd a goose feather bed,
And blankets drawn so comely oo!

She said yarra, what do I care for my house and my land,
What do I care for my only wedded lord,
Tonight I lay in a wide open field,
In the arms of a raggle taggle gypsy oooo!
What do I care for my blankets ooh ooh so comely oo!

She said yarra what do I care for my house and my land,
What do I care for money ooo!
I'd rather have a kiss from a yellow gypsy' lips
Than all the fame and money ooo!


Shout out to the #openmic team and all those who enter. Each week the level of entry is getting higher and higher. Although I must say, music is not a competition. It's about sharing a little part of your soul.

Enjoy my entry and don't forget to click follow and watch out for my other posts!

Sort:  

Good entry, man! The closer the music is to your heart, the better. Couldn't help it - I had to peak at those pictures of your family you linked down below... Awesome photo's - what a history - they were truly great pics!

Thank you man, have a look at the story I just posted. It's an old Roma folk tale with some pictures thrown in for good measure.

this is cool! so you're a gypsy​​? could here a bit of the Irish slang in there. the time signature is 'unconventional' but yet it doesn't sound odd.

all the best for your openmic! :)

Yep I am Anglo Romany. English Gypsy.
http://gypsytrailercaravans.webeden.co.uk/robert-harker-pics/4527925898
That's some pics of my family. Preserved on internet.

oh wow! those are classic photos. wonder if it's my internet​/computer or the photos are quite blur though :/

I think its the website hosting them, sometimes they are higher quality then others they are low res.

Check out my story, your interest inspired me.
https://steemit.com/story/@thesimpson/the-gypsy-woman-and-the-devil

I LOVE this song! It's one I have always loved, but have never been able to play a decent version of.
Your version is great! I like your voice too. I hope you have more Irish tunes in you!

Sounds really good man.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Dude that sounded really good. Ilike the chord work and the vocal tone. Authenic.

haha the vocal tone is due to my sore throat!

More please

Awesome performance bro. You really nailed it. Love the sound of the guitar and the bittersweet melancholy of your voice :)

Highly rEsteemed!

Wow very nice steem music.
Thanks for sharing
@thesimpson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67