Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 111 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)



Open Mic Wk # 111 Unofficial Judge's Entry: Why Is @Pfunk Not A Top 20 Witness?


Steemit Open Mic Week 111

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 6 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @chaifm's "Quiet Glory" Original Song

So glad your glorious music isn't quiet at all. Couldn't fathom an Open Mic community without all of the great originals you blessed us with, and this one is poetically deep and profoundly performed with a reflective and sombre cry. Both you and @Melavie have that talent to produce such melancholic and heartfelt music. Great guitar work to build up the momentum and suspense as well. Thank you for sharing this gem, looking forward to more in the future.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@chaifm/steemit-openmic-week-111-quiet-glory-original


2. @addiesworld's "Shallow" By Bradley Cooper & Lady Gaga Cover Song

Loved your straight up introduction, and your entry even more. As we say in the world of music, talent is talent, and you consistently find yourself in our top 5 lists for great reason. You embodied the lyrics of this song with your riveting and soulful singing. Your passion and energy is evidently unmatched and you drive inspiration full force with performances like these. Great cover choice to showcase your wonderful skills, thank you for sharing this gem and awaiting your next one already.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@addiesworld/steemit-open-mic-week-111-cover-of-shallow-by-bradley-cooper-and-lady-gaga


3. @wilins's "Mala Compañía // Bad Company " Original Song

Sometimes the best company we find in times of loneliness and lost direction are the worst influences, but for the time being, those moments of companionship are still cherished because they provided something that helped the ever impending void of nothingness that vacuums away the meaning of life and purpose from many souls trying to find their way in this cold world. I really enjoyed your lamenting melodies, deep lyrics and raw emotions in this original, great guitar chord transitions as well. Thank you for sharing this farewell gem with us, I am sure it was quite the great experience in Venezuela with @joseacabrerav and @Smollrecord. Have a safe journey home. Looking forward to more entries from you brother.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@wilins/ockbf13b


4. @themusiclover's "Nowhere Man" By The Beatles Cover Song

Great cover choice and smooth singing execution of this classic hit for your first multi-video layered entry. I am sure it was hard work to lay it all out how you wanted, but it turned out great for all of our enjoyment. Your brother @K0wsk1 definitely steered you in the right direction to provide even more qualitative entries such as this display. You made a resounding impression this week with this performance and will be keeping an eye out for more of your moving and uplifting entries. Thanks for this musical gem.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@themusiclover/steemit-openmic-week-111-nowhere-man-the-beatles-cover-by-themusiclover


5. @ingridkorneelia's "Diamonds & Demons" By Nessi Gomes Cover Song

Quite the soothingly chilling song, with pensive poetic lyrics and your beautiful haunting performance, singing and guitar wise. This was a wonderful cover song to introduce to us this week and you brought this to life in all its shadowed vitality. Thanks for sharing this gem, looking forward to more of your artistic interpretations.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ingridkorneelia/steemit-open-mic-week-111-cover-of-nessi-gomes-diamonds-and-demons





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )




1. @k0wsk1's "Someday You Will Be Loved" By DCFC Cover Song

https://steemit.com/openmic/@k0wsk1/3kyqzlx5


3. @rodrigo98's "Curious" By Van Alexander Vinistky Cover Song

https://steemit.com/openmic/@rodrigo98/263s9pz1


7. @carolinafer's ”Gracias a la vida” By @Violeta Parra Cover Song

https://steemit.com/openmic/@carolinafer/wjjfg2n3





Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 111


@lk666 @manuelmusic @thealarmed @mayneth @edmundocentenor @guifaquetti @samjgonz @adolforivas42 @shookriya @esthersanchez @maximilianoflute @josevallera @siomarasalmeron @jetperalta @eugelys


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

You're very welcome, you gave a really good performance this week @carolinafer, I enjoyed every second of it.

My English is not so good to understand everything that you sing. I need increase my skills about this. But I loved the beat and the rhythm of the words. Thank you for the mention😊

You're very welcome and That is okay that you don't understand everything yet, thank you for listening @guifaquetti. I only sung the song about why our valued community member and witness @Pfunk is not in the top 20 of witnesses. He does a lot for our community and has donated thousands of Steem as prize reward money for all of us artists who participate in the Open Mic Contest.

Yes I gave one of my votes to him! Happy to know!

Thanks for looking out man. Good work.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're very welcome bro, appreciate your kind words, Steem on, keep the music flowing

Wow - Thank you again verbal-d. Feel very grateful for your words.
What an amazing official steemit song, I haven't heard it before :)

You're very very welcome. That is amazing that more and more steemians are still discovering the official steemit song, I always wonder what would have happened if I never made the song and @luzcypher never heard it, there would be no open mic today, but maybe something else completely different. Everything happens for a reason and you truly dont know what your original music triggers in this life or who you inspire. Keep it up @chaifm
Ps: we share the same first name

finally the verbal-d mistery solved!

Awesome for everyone here! Greetings, you all!

Yes indeed, everyone is awesome, even you!

Jajajaja OF COURSE! That I can asure! Jaja

@verbal-d !! Oh my gosh I seriously am just seeing this now.... I’ve been so behind on replying to these! I can’t thank you enough for the constant support and encouragement with your sweet words:) I am still so grateful for anyone that takes the time to listen to my work! So thank you for adding me in your top 5!! Truly!

It's okay, I also fall super far behind replying to my comments. You are so welcome @addiesworld. We miss your amazing entries. Keep up the fantastic music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57