Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 51 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago


Steemit Open Mic Week 51

(Click Blue Link Above To View All Entries For This Week)

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was pretty crazy, I actually saw more powerful Cover entries overtaking the original artists this week so kudos to you all who keep pushing forward with your passionate performances. I found some beautiful gems from you artists, and I simply couldn't write about all of the talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!



1. @dan-atstarlte's "I Love Steemit More Than I Love You" Original Song
Not only do you remind people to have fun with making music, but you still incorporate relevant relatable topics that all of us here in the Steemit Community can resonate with. With @jaybird's flair, skillful songwriting skills, driving vocal presence and powerful melodies, paired with @dan-atstarlite's energetic performances, musical intellect, high range falsettos, and improvisational prowess, the @steembirds will be a force to reckon with. Be sure to follow them, if you're not already.
You both give a feel good positive vibe to your songs, utilize solid chemistry, harmonies and it is easy to laugh along with you all in your comedic approach to some hard subjects. I think many will agree that @dan-atstarlite's last second falling helped them land into my top 3 list, and because you obviously write originals, then, of course, ​your song's catchiness has earned you 1st place vote from me. Thanks for the good laughs and the reminder to moderate our daily intake of Steemit, even despite its powerful aftereffects. Looking forward to your next hit.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@dan-atstarlite/steemit-open-mic-week-51-the-steembirds-i-love-steemit-more-than-i-love-you-original-steemit-song



2. @oliverwaterman's "JS Bach Bwv 997 Fugue" Cover
Absolutely amazing. Like I have said before, when it comes to covers, I am a pretty tough judge and @oliverwaterman made this piece beautifully effortless, near flawless, fueled with passionate playing and intentful skill. He truly reminded us all why the classical genre is as prominently respected and admired across the world with his talented prowess. The acoustic conversation indeed granted me a full length of listening and it translated so well through his guitar. Thank you for this powerful entry. Your work ethic and practice must be beyond most for you to be at the level you are now playing with ease. You did say it is difficult to play, I believe you, but you make it look smooth.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@oliverwaterman/steemit-open-mic-week-51-j-s-bach-bwv-997-fugue-performed-by-oliver-waterman



3. @kenweiner's "My One And Only Love" Cover Song
It maybe lonely out there as a saxophonist but you and a good friend of mine by the name of Kalin Freeman, are really holding down the fort, playing smooth and neck turning saxophone melodies. I respect the craft and I appreciate you fully for keeping it alive and well. I can hear the skillful intonations and sweet vibrato you add to the end of your notes, showing that you know how to play and bring to life this wonderful instrument. It is truly one of my favorite instruments to listen to, especially being a Jazz lover, and Hip Hop is Jazz's great-grandson as they say, so my emcee self has to pay respects regardless for Jazz paving the roads to what I love and do today. Keep up the clean performances and let it flow naturally as you are doing. I look forward to more of your entries, and let's hope you have inspired some more saxophonists to come and play. Oh, come to think about it, @soushi888 also plays saxophone and has entered the Open Mic Contest more than a handful of times, feel free to connect with him here on Steemit.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kenweiner/steemit-open-mic-week-51-my-one-and-only-love


Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 19.00.54.png

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=32&v=ZoNMqLOJKJg
4. @kennyskitchen's "Freedom Movement By @Burntmd" Original Song
As a fellow Hip Hop emcee, I salute the old school flow you revived for this super poetic and fresh track. I definitely appreciate the positive message, the lyrical educative vibes and the sharp rhythmic delivery. And many thanks for keeping away from the cliche rhymes we often hear that make you cringe. I know your track is going to be a dope record when you finish it. Keep promoting that open minded open hearted peaceful love. We need more emcees to hold down the frontline in this war for our minds. I hope you continue to enter the open mic contest, we need more emcees representing the Hip Hop culture on Steemit. I hope you can dig it. One love.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kennyskitchen/steemit-open-mic-week-51-burntmd-freedom-movement-freestyle-original-song



5. @carlferr's "Tenacious D" The Metal Guitar Cover Song
Breathtaking guitar playing skills. You really know how to shred a metal guitar. I could almost see sparks flying and your control over those notes with your greatly timed strumming was just a privilege to witness. You definitely take your craft seriously as other top notch musicians do. You get 5 star approval from me, I really enjoyed your entry. I don't listen to metal anymore, that was a time from a different phase in my life, but do I respect the craft, without a doubt yes! Nice techniques, really crisp transitions and you set the bar high for other guitarists in the future weeks. Thanks for sharing your awesome talents with us.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@carlferr/steemit-open-mic-semana-51-tenacious-d-the-metal-guitar-cover




Honourable Mentions


My Top 5 In No Particular Order



5. @digitalopus's "Queramos a Venezuela" Original Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@digitalopus/steemit-openmic-week-51-queramos-a-venezuela-original-song-2017918t165920448z


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

openmic originalmusic contest steemsong community

Sort:  

Thank you very much for these mention. Success for all! 🎼🎶

You're most welcome my friend, success indeed to us all.

Great post.thanks for shared.i resteem it

Thank you very much, I appreciate that!

Awesome picks this week. Thank you @verbal-d. Can you believe it's been a year since Steemit Open Mic started? Crazy how it has evolved, right?

Resteemed your post.

Thanks bro, please check your private inbox on Discord :)
We are ready for the post tomorrow

Congratsulations to all winners. ..

🎵🎶🎼🎤🎆🎇

Everyone truly is a winner on Steemit :)

indeed. .. all the contestants are very talented

Yes they are, it is so cool to check every new week out and make my top 5 lists.

great. .. if i join include me lol.... haha just kidding! !!! 😂 😅

It's all good, I know you're joking. lol

Thanks @verbal-d! I am so honored to be in your top 5 this week. I will check out the other sax players you mentioned. I agree about the relationship between jazz and hip-hop. Both have that swing vs. straight-eighths feel. I love the jazz/hip-hop groups from the 90s like Digable Planets and Us3.

You're most welcome, I am glad to have you in the top 5 as well. I shall definitely revisit those groups and charge up some hip hop jazz inspiration, thanks

Congrats. ..

Thanks for the shoutout!

You're most welcome, please keep up your amazing playing

Wow man you put in a lot of time reviewing all these entries I am guessing. I somehow have not been seeing all these judging posts but will be sure to check em out from now on and throw you an up vote for all your time and contribution to this project!

Also FYI your logo has not been showing up in recent posts at the bottom of ur posts.....Shoudl fix that as it would look way better and be far more professional.

Bless~*~

Yeah it is all good bro, I am glad you came across them now :)
Many thanks and yeah I just noticed something happened with my logo. Very strange. I will see what is wrong, thanks again bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64