Steemit Openmic Week 119 - We The Patsies Original Song "The Magdalena Reel"

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

My take on the traditional Mexican Reel...

The Magdalena Reel

I came to stay the weekend
No I came to stay the day
I was so lost when you found me
But you helped me find my way

You gave me bread and peanut butter
We drank a pot of herbal tea
We made love right on the table
I don't know what got into me

I had never made love
But all it takes is time
You showed me something girl
You've always been so kind

Together we have seen the seasons
Change and go back again
And it just keeps getting better
My pretty Magdalena

If I had know where I was going
Our stars might have never crossed
My advice to all you people
Sometimes it just pays to get lost

Magdalena is the name of the girl for me
Breakfast time, supper time, sugar time for me
Tea time, pudding time, Siesta time for we
Magdalena is the name of the girl for me

Make something with your hands
Make something with your mind
Make something with your heart
And the pieces that you find

Put your fingers in the desert
Put your fingers in the sea
My fingers in the pudding
Where it shouldn't be

We've come so far together
We have weathered every storm
It's such a cold world outside there
But I have you to keep me warm

Some people fear the living
Some people only fear the dead
Me I only fear Tequila
And an empty bed

Make something with your hands
Make something with your mind
Make something with your heart
And the pieces that you find

Put your fingers in the desert
Put your fingers in the sea
My fingers in the pudding
Where it shouldn't be

I came to stay the weekend
No I came to stay the day
I was so lost when you found me
You helped me find my way

Magdalena and me
Magdalena and me
I love you and you love me
Magdalena and me

The way things are, the way things be
I love you and you love me
If A is A and B is B
Magdalena and me

Magdalena
Magdalena
Magdalena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66