Steemit Open Mic Week 72 – 'Home Tonight' (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this song in early 2011, not long after returning from a year-long, solo journey through India and Nepal. Coming 'home' was hard – I wasn't sure where that was anymore.

Divorce had preceded my trip, and I was acutely aware of how alone I was in that moment. It wasn't necessarily a bad thing – simply the truth in that moment. This song showed up as a bit of an expression of my inner dialogue at the time.

I was trying to pull myself up by my bootstraps – to remember that I was perfectly capable of navigating this life on my own.

A rough recording of this song became a comfort to a friend as she was passing and was then used for a slideshow presentation at her funeral. You just never know how you'll touch someone's life...

Big Love,
xo Zippy


I know – there are no secrets in this life
no hidden meaning that I will someday find
no one's gonna come and make it all alright
I've got to find my own way home tonight

there's a bitter wind blowin'
and I'm comin' home
home tonight....home tonight

too long I've been wanderin' down this lonely road
draggin' my feet with heavy things, I would not let go
searchin' for ways to fix me, and to make me whole
but my soul's not broken, no...

it's just old...and tired of walkin' alone
but I'm alright. I'll make it home
home tonight...home tonight

so I open the window and stretch my arms wide
I'm ready to leave it all behind
like a little sparrow, unfolding for flight
I trust these little wings to carry me, oh so high

fly – little bird, fly
all the way home
home tonight...home tonight

I'm comin' home tonight
home tonight


Heartfelt thanks to @luzcypher, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d, @meno & @pfunk for all you do to make this happen each week. You're all amazing.

Sort:  

wow those guitar slide noises are incredibly ambient for the song,

Ha! I'm glad you appreciate them. I considered trying to soften their presence, but – really – I'm trying not to be so damn perfectionistic, so I decided to just leave 'em be. :)

That song is so incredibly beautiful it just melt me. Your voice has a special tone that connects something between heaven and earth. I feel home listening to you. Thank you so much.

This really is just the sweetest comment ever. THANK YOU!

Such a deeply touching song and a quite lovely performance!

Glad to know you appreciate it @passion-ground. I'm experimenting with letting things be imperfect. I've been wanting to record and share this one for the last few weeks – glad I finally did!

Surprisingly, perfection is often found in the "imperfect." Keep experimenting! :-)

Great song and beautiful voice

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks so much @luzcypher! Once again – I'm so grateful to you guys for inspiring me to pick up my guitar, pull out my bluebird and share with all of you. It's long overdue...

So delicately vulnerable and beautiful. Your voice is very different from Tracy Chapman's, but you have that same heart-beating-just-behind-the-veil-of-your-voice thing that made me always just love her. Bravo. You should win this week.

Nice mic and video set up as well - wish you could help me with mine!

Miss @kayclarityyour words humble me. In truth, you're a significant part of why I felt compelled to start entering. I greatly admire your musicianship – your crystal-clear, expertly controlled voice – your ease and grace on camera – the universality of your unforced lyricism – your emotional story-telling. As such, your reflection carries more weight.

I so appreciate that vote of confidence. I wouldn't expect to win, however. Partly because I placed 3rd with my first ever entry and this is only my 2nd time! ;)

I would love nothing more than to be near enough to record you! I know that I've got a rare advantage in that I have all the right equipment and the built-in know how as a photographer. Perhaps you'll pop through Portland someday and we can do a little collab. ;)

Thank you so much for taking time to listen.

That was beautiful Zippy @zipporah !

This is very lovely, I'm glad I stumbled on this performance!

Thank you! :) Glad you liked it...

Happy to meet you! ♡
I looooooooove your song so so so so so much ♡♡♡♡

You're adorable. ;)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thanks a bunch @msp3k! ;) You're the best kind of bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73