Steemit OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 1 - Original Song "Broken Mirrors"

in #openmicsongwriters6 years ago (edited)

Hey Ya'll,

This is an original tune written for the brand new Songwriter's Challenge Week 1. The Theme was "Broken Mirror," so i wrote about exactly that lol.

Not my greatest performance IMO, multitasking a bit too much here reading the lyrics and trying to remeber the bullshit extra chords I decided to throw in lol.

Enjoy!


Check this out: https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirrors#@krystle/re-jaybird-re-luzcypher-open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirrors-20171123t035239325z



BROKEN MIRRORS

V: You’re two faced so hard to read
Keep saying things I want you to mean
Between each word is just empty
You hide it well what you are really

P: I watch your eyes when you move your mouth
I see inside no sense of self
You make believe and I can deceive
And when I stare you’re staring back at me

C: We’re just like broken mirrors x4

V: This time focus on me
Wrote down the things I want you to read
Between each word there’s no meaning
I hid it well what we meant really


JB Lisbon.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

Nice! I especially like the chorus. I can hear it as an 80's pop song. That might be because when you sing the chorus I hear echoes of Phil Collins. Anyways, good stuff man!

Hey I'll take that lol. PC had some pretty great stuff ;)

I'll admit it was a bit harder than expected to come up with something chorusy with the theme "broken mirror"

Thanks for entering @jaybird! Sounds great.

Congratulations @jaybird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'M fine ,how are you, I love your song, thanks my friends @jaybird

You seem so much more confident singing now from when I creeped your openmic vids from days gone by. Lovely song this - suits your voice.

Thanks AW! Been working out my voice a bit ;)

YES JAYBIRD!! Smashing it! Everytime I see you performing lately theres a ladder around? whats that about....?

it's kinda my thing ;)

Punchy song. I liked the energy your song inspires.
And I know what you mean by "multitasking" :-)!

Thanks Muphy!

Great man! sounds very good

Quite Cool, brother!

i am so used to hearing funny lyrics from you i could not believe there was an actual serious entry from you lol! not that i doubted you or anything.. just that i have only heard the steemit songs lol!
upvoting you sir!

Haha, i can see the suprise in that...

Ya before SteemBirds, i used to enter openmic all the time.. all
Serious songs ;)

Ill be trying to write a tune for the 8 weeks of the songwriting challenge , so stay tuned for the next 1

Yeah i can’ Wait to hear the next one!
I am not very good at writing stuff out of the blue.. but so far for the challenge i have been able to. I can’t say i will for the whole 8 weeks but hopefully... i find it as a great way of challenging myself.. pushing myself a little and growing as an artist. That’s why I decided on entering... let’s see what theother weeks brings lol!
I do really like your style... and I admire you as an artist... I appreciate you replying back to me ;) thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63