Video 1 of 11 rendering - Hot chocolate with Steem break. steemCreated with Sketch.

in #opensource5 years ago (edited)

My first video series is on the way for an equestrian client.

Today is editing day.
halter and lead.png

We did four shoots of about three to four hours each at her horse farm, northeast of Oxford, Ohio. The goal is to produce a series of very short and basic videos to give her beginner students a head start with learning the most fundamental horsemanship basics. This way, when the students are at the farm, they should be more ready to start working and learning with the horses.

There is much more to the goals intended here though as media production is planned to increase so that this horse stable will have a scalable income from the media going forward. More on that in another post.

Open Source Production Tools

My cameras and gimbals and the like certainly use proprietary software, but the toolchain from that point on is completely open source for me.

I use PopOS for my operating system on a Lenovo P52 Thinkpad workstation laptop. The reason I choose PopOS instead of the myriad of other choices in the Linux ecosphere is that System 76 designed PopOS to work with Nvidia graphics cards out of the box. I even switched from my longtime love of the KDE desktop to their custom version of the Gnome desktop. After a couple of weeks of using it, I currently do think it is better for the way I want to operate. That comes as a surprise to me.

Blender is my video editor. It allows me to do anything. I can create motion graphics, do compositing and really any other thing I might be able to come up with to help tell the story I am working on. I must note that Blender is not for everyone. It has a very sharp learning curve and requires a lot of time and effort to harness its vast power.

There are a few other little tools I use as well, but the operating system and the editor are what gives me the ability to create.

Now, off I go back to the remaining 10 videos... I'll stop by on my next render.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00