You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Keeping You From Running Linux? Is It The Software?

in #opensource6 years ago

What is keeping me from running it?

Honestly? The learning curve and lack of familiarity. I just need to commit to doing it. I talk about decentralization so this is a step I need to take. Getting out from under the thumb of the elite is crucial.

Started the process of backing up some of my files to wipe Windows off my laptop.

One question: do you find there are things you encounter that wont work on linux...where something is only made for Mac and Windows.

Sort:  

I really want to try it out ! - BUT - I will only do it, when have spare comp - which isn't the case at the moment..

I just can't afford for anything to screw up, without a working comp available....and I know so little about comps to begin with...

I'm sure I have list of silly questions, which I will avoid asking..lol

Noooooooooooooooo...way too silly.
I'll save those for when I have an old laptop ready to obliterate, sat in front of me..

The answer for both you and @taskmaster4450 is to get your feet wet without comitting - it's easy as pie to install VirtualBox (for free) and run linux as a virtual machine. You can pop in, play around, and then retire back to windows when you need a break, all without dual booting, needing a second machine, etc.

Same :)
I think there are windows linux distros that should make the transition easier but still did not do it yet.

Can't get much easier than Linux Mint. Just make sure your stuff is backed up. I hope you give a try.

naw i think zorin OS is the best fit for me-could be wrong

That looks like a good one. I've heard of it, but hadn't seen it.

Open Source could be considered the first general expression of Blockchain tech. Every user can verify the software and its functionality and ensure that it does not have breaches or backdoors.

Very similar to how Blockchain works. Ya gotta do it taskmaster4450!

My new favorite word is UBUNTU! -(the most solid OS) It is an African word that holds the same meaning as Namaste. "The God in me recognizes the God in you.

Well put. The combination is going to be very interesting going forward.

@taskmaster4450, you can try it without even installing it. Try this LinuxLive USB Creator and just give it a try. You can see if you like it and then install when you wish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81