Sort:  

You are welcome. I never knew it either until I met Dorothy, and I was shocked. I just couldn't fathom it. Still can't. There are just so many reasons people end up homeless. Thank you for caring, @malloryblythe. You give me hope for a better tomorrow for all of us.

I live in LA, which has the second highest homeless population in America. We have an entire section of the downtown area where the city government has decided that homeless people are allowed to sleep on the street (Skid Row). It's a pretty large area, and at night, the streets turn into miniature tent cities. A lot of the people there are the elderly, or veterans, or people who are disabled, or suffering from mental illness. Exactly the kind of people we should be taking care of, not forcing to sleep on the street. I don't know how we are supposedly the most prosperous nation on earth but we allow so much poverty and suffering.

I know, right? You nailed it - "Exactly the kind of people we should be taking care of, not forcing to sleep on the street."

At one point, there was a place called The Dream Center in L.A. Do you know of it? They were doing what they could, but I'm not sure how it has evolved over the years. The problem has become so massive. The good news is, people like you, and me, and so many others truly do care, and Steemit has given us a voice, and a platform to actually make a real difference in the lives of others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67599.37
ETH 3782.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49