Origami crane A4 Challenge

in #origami6 years ago

The main theme of this project is appreciation of materials, we waste so much. I'm a bit of a paper hoarder; print outs, previous projects, and a lot more.
I decided to see how many paper cranes I could make out of a single sheet of paper, salvaging as much as I could.

3.jpg

It took around 2 days but I ended up making 104 paper cranes, they weren't all the same size but the paper squares ranged from 1.5-2.5 cm

This is how I started cutting out the paper

1.jpg

The smallest strip was too small, couldn't make the cranes properly so I didn't count those, couldn't thin the wings

IMG_20180629_125218.jpg

Then I decided to make a stand for the cranes, with little to no knowledge about 3d modeling, I looked up some blender tutorials, learned how to make a general frame by messing around with a square and it's side scaling.
1.5.jpg

I streamed making it on dlive but there was a problem with it and it didn't show up on steemit. I had a few issues making the stand. First I didn't realize that I was making the object in mm and not cm, so I had to scale up the object(after creating the papercraft model), them putting it into pepakura every rectangle was separate even though I joined them in blender. I ended up just gluing the pieces together since I noticed after printing.

holder.jpg

Organized the parts to take as little paper as possible, looking back I should have made the side legs shorter and added a weight on the back side.

Here's what the cranes looked like before I hung them on the strings, the pink one is for reference, that's the size of the 2000 cranes I folded, the box was very useful for storing them so I made a post about it.
2.jpg

Watched some stuff while making this, re-watched groundhog day, great movie.

After finishing this project I decided to finally reuse some of the old paper I have and make and make a fun origami model, I'll probably finish by tomorrow.

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

This is brilliant. I love the visual effect of the cranes all hanging down. My favourite picture is the one of the different crane sizes.

Thank you :)

They look brilliant @ivan-g... Now I know what to do with the cranes I make with old parking receipts....
I like all your photos - but the texture of your cutting mat reminds me of a map 😊

It does kind of, need to get a new one xD have to dust of my pants every time I use it (tiny pieces just fall of) I could add the papercraft file if I figure ouy how to fix it, very simple :)

I'm a bit of a paper hoarder; print outs, previous projects, and a lot more.

Me tooo!! Now, this is one interesting idea. There is so much that we can reuse and recycle. And using origami box to store origami cranes, nice! And I like that photo with the 3 cranes of different sizes too... Looks like a scene from GOT or LOTR :)

Thats nice to hear, I usually use them when experimenting, trying out new models or just messing around. Everyone seems to like the 3 bird pic xD

lovely job as always @ivan-g :)

you're an expert at these - and you have the patience of a saint hehe

Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97