Origami Olympiad - Part 3

in #origami5 years ago

Got the results for round 2 seems I didn't make the cut. I'll get the task book for the second round, just fold along and post images here. The models look pretty interesting, especially the tessellations.

spider 2.jpg

Here's the third task, I'm pretty awful at complex animal origami and had to improvise a bit at the shaping in the end. This model did inspire me to try making some more complex models I haven't tried in ages and see if I improved at all. I managed to make one model I tried a lot in highschool and realized how easily I can read most of the harder collapsing parts I'd struggle a lot with before. I also discovered paper I wouldn't even look for if I didn't need it. Maybe I'll try again next year and hopefully do better.

spider 3.jpg

The struggle is mostly visible at the front here where I couldn't even shape the eyes.

spider 1.jpg

The top view is pretty cool though. Only thing I'm worse at in origami than these kind of models is reading crease patterns which I tried practicing a long time ago but gave up eventually, might try that again some time soon.

Sort:  

Yeah I can't read a crease pattern to save my life. But the model doesn't look horrible. I think I have that model in a book somewhere and that is further than I ever got with it.

I get how crease patterns work and all but I always mess something up/ miss a fold/ get the wrong mountain or valley fold. Thanks, I think I could do it if I retried like 5 more times but I've got better models to fold.

Is it the fuchikoma ? :D Looks so cool !

Too bad you didn't make the cut for the second round :(

It's a jumping spider, looks like this

9qbf2fwvvf.jpg
photo link

Thanks, I'll try again next year :)

It is a cool looking model @ivan-g. It has a transformer feel to it hehe. The wonders of origami :D. You have a lot of patience.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It kinda does :D I have a lot of patience but this model made "take breaks" a lot.

I wish we had both known that creativity was encouraged. Congats on finishing this model. I don't think I made it past step twenty. Though like yourself this challenge did make me look at the type and size of the paper I have. I now own very thin brick patterned 40x40 paper I probably wouldn't have ever bought without this challenge.

Same, should be added in the rules in some form(i was too woried about getting disqualified for it). I think I know what type of paper you mean, it's really neat for some complex models, made a fiery dragon by Kade Chan from it, holds the folds pretty well.

Holy mac&chz!!!!! You did it! You have been talking about this on @shadowspub 's #PYPT for a while. So excited!
Ren

You remembered :D little mistakes here and there but I'm happy I got it

I think it is amazing. I love that you finished it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11