Desktop Sculptures by Myself

in #originalart6 years ago

Here are so more desk top sculptures as i'm now calling them. I have a good friend who works for Ardman Animation the people responsible for Wallace and Gromit and Chicken run. I used to say to him "I really want to make some 3d work ." he gave me the best advice imaginable. He just said to me "Well get on and make some then" that was all the encouragement I needed.
I started first with the Larger street stuff then scaled it down to a manageable size using foam. I also like to make more abstract sculptures from wood that is just left around, I will include a photo below.

This Green man sculpture was my first attempt at using the Foam to work with. I was painted to look like stone afterwards.

Screen shot 2018-02-28 at 11.01.53.png

Screen shot 2018-02-28 at 11.05.00.png

Next probably the most intricate model I have made is a replica of the psychedelic bus "Further". It is the bus that Ken Kesey drove across America with the merry pranksters in the 60's. Sparking the psychedelic revolution of that time which lead to things like Woodstock happening.
imgres.jpg

My model was first sculpted to the right shape from the foam. It was then painted as accurately as possible using photos of each side of the bus that I managed to find online. I then cut glass to fit inside the windows.

To add some Irony to the scene I put it up on bricks implying that the psychedelic revolution has in 2018 come to a holt.
Screen shot 2018-02-28 at 11.06.33.png

Screen shot 2018-02-28 at 11.07.17.png

Thanks for reading lastly i'm just going to show you the wooden sculpture I mentioned at the start of this article. I come from a self taught graffiti back ground, I love all aspects of Art it was just Graffiti that gave me this Bug for creating and creativity. I feel that this next thing i'm about to show you almost falls into a fine art sculpture category but i've never been one for categories anyway.

IMG_2373.JPG

IMG_2374.JPG

The wooden sculpture above is made in front of the Bristol suspension bridge. A landmark for the city. It would seem that a lot of things get washed up on this part of the river. I started to find really large pieces of wood there and was inspired to create this. The railway sleeper is around 10ft tall. It can be viewed from the other side of the road also due to its scale.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

You got a 1.47% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @amok!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 4.60% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @amok!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72