March 16, 2019 -- What I'm working on this weekend, part 1

I love Harry T. Burleigh's arrangement of the Negro Spiritual "Deep River." I sung it often as a vocal student, and once had the pleasure of performing it for a TV audience of 200,000 (potentially, because of course I don't know how many watched that episode of the program I was on). It will always have a special place in my heart, and deserves the honored place it has held among spirituals arranged for concert since it was penned in 1913.

All that said: after 106 years, there is room for a new take on "Deep River," and I am going to tackle it.

I love arpeggios and I love water, especially moving water. On a rainy day I love watching the water run down the gutter at the edge of the street by the sidewalk (even though rain, while lovely in the abstract, is not always as fun if you have to be on the concrete)! I enjoy going to both the ocean and San Francisco Bay just to watch the water there, and creeks are a delight too when I get out in the Bay Area.

That said, I have never seen anything like the rivers my ancestors had to contend with in their quest for freedom in the days when Africans were cruelly enslaved in this country. The Mississippi. The Red and Rappahannock. The Potomac. The Missouri. Many rivers to cross, as the saying goes. Those rivers are doubtless very beautiful, but they had to be a struggle to get across and thus became a worthy metaphor for the challenges of getting free, in this world and the next. And, my ancestors got across them. They were not merely standing and wishing. They made it to freedom, one by one, bit by bit, until finally all of them made it in 1865, with the help of the U.S. army and within that, 180,000 United States Colored Troops who not only made it to freedom but helped bring EVERYBODY left behind to freedom as well!

I want to capture all of that -- the beauty AND the struggle AND the striving AND the victory. So, basically, I'm going to set the spiritual for some mighty bass whose voice will stride into the rippling sound the piano accompaniment makes (and of course, baritones, tenors, my fellow contralto/mezzos, and sopranos are welcome to wade in the water too; I'll rearrange as necessary). If I succeed, the listener will hear and feel the journeys past and present. Given all that is going on in the United States, Black people are STILL having to struggle to maintain and expand our enjoyment of our full freedoms as citizens. The rivers keep running. We still have to get across them, and there are many of them. Not only that. To be human is to have to get across many rivers -- resistance and opposition come to all. The rivers must all be crossed in order to keep moving forward.

Now as a composer-arranger, the challenge is simple but not easy. H.T. Burleigh set a high standard for beauty in how he handled "Deep River." I don't flatter myself that I can match it, but I don't have to. I am not in Mr. Burleigh's league anyhow! Still, any new arrangement of "Deep River" cannot be shabby by comparison. It must compare well in beauty while contrasting in style. The energy and beauty and potential danger of a fast, deep river must all be there.

The solution may be found in adapting the style of figurations of an even older composer than Mr. H.T. Burleigh: Herr J.S. Bach, whose pieces with neat, flowing, repetitive arpeggios I used to play as rapidly as I dared. I used to also play those rare occasions when Beethoven used that kind of figuration -- the third movement of the "Tempest" Sonata comes to mind, along with the third movements of the "Waldstein" and "Appassionata" sonatas. The vast energies of near-perpetual motion, channeled and flowing onward to a final point of rest -- that is what I will borrow from the classical side of my experience.

Well, enough said ... I've started playing in the water... care to dip your toes in? It isn't that deep yet...

Sort:  

I love getting the insight into your thought process as you work on an arrangement, and the powerful connections between flowing waters / arpeggios / slaves journey to freedom. I have been super impressed with your posting so far! I like the way this arrangement is heading from the short snippet you shared. I read what you wrote in your last post RE blowing through your resource credits. I have given you a small delegation that you can keep until you have earned enough steem power of your own to interact normally with the blockchain. Much love - Carl

Mr. Nash -- THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! It bothers me when I cannot thank people for what they do that helps me. On Facebook I am that person who thanks everyone who gives me a birthday greeting, even though I haven't heard from many of them in a year and won't hear from them for another year. I appreciate your vesting in me the ability to respond to people who are interacting with me here, and I also appreciate your thoughtful comments about how I work. One of the reasons I came to Steemit was because @jessamynorchard said that this was the place for musicians who really have and are willing to share the process of how they work. She was right -- your generosity is the proof! I intend to keep turning out good content and composition! Much love back, and thank you again!

btw eating kiwis with the peel on is the only way to go. That is where all the flavor is! They are so blah if you take the peel off :)

Finally -- somebody gets it! I KNEW Steemit was the place for me! ;)

That sounds very pretty come check us out in the #boombox tag where resteem all music as courtesy to fellow artist and our fans.

Thank you very much -- I will certainly do that and also include your tag in my future posts!

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much -- I voted for you as a witness yesterday, so does it help for me to vote again? I'm so new to how the blockchain works...

Nope once you have voted a witness the vote remains until/unless you remove it. You get a total of 30 witness votes to use, so as you encounter witness projects that are doing good work in your estimation, vote them! I am one of the cofounders of c-squared, which is intended as an inclusive community for curators. As you find your feet here and start interacting with other users, keep us in mind - if you find a post by another author that you think deserves more love and upvotes, you can join us on Discord (link in the c-squared comment above) and request the "curator" role which will give you permission to drop off links you find by other authors. It will be a while before your own upvote carries any significant weight, but c-squared gives newer users an easy way to still be able to give a significant boost to posting you find and enjoy. Let me know if you any questions :) Cheers - Carl

Thank you -- this is all new info to me, but I am soaking it all in and beginning to figure out what is going on behind the creative stuff that I am doing here!

@deeanndmathews, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

Sounds like it's going to be beautiful. I hope you share when it's finished!

I certainly will --just made another post with today's progress!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Thank you once again -- even though my upvotes aren't worth a lot yet, you have them!

@classical-music and @classical-radio are awesome projects, headed up by an even more awesome person :) @bengy is the face behind these projects and he is one of my very favorite steem-ians! Actually it was @bengy's feature of you that put you on my radar :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87