Rhapsody in D flat (the REWARD for Pressing Forward)

This is the second of two pieces (here is Meditation in G flat Mixolydian, the first one) I played after my four-meeting day ... the ultimate proof that when you press on into your work, beautiful things can occur not once but twice in a row.

In this case I was actually trying to move toward B flat minor, but having gotten there I just kept on walking down until I stumbled into a chord progression I remembered and loved ... A7 going to A flat 11 resolving to A flat 7, which I loved from student days when I was playing the second movement of Beethoven's Appassionata. At the end of his theme and the exquisite variations, A7 leads to A flat 11, then to A flat 7 and back to D flat. I loved that piece as a student, and still love it, so since I slid on into that progression, I went on and let myself make the unexpected journey into D flat... and what a journey! Why did I have to press on to the piano when I really wasn't feeling like it? THIS is why, although the meditation in G flat would have been enough!

I thank God for being raised by veterans and community servants who all taught me: PRESS into what you are supposed to be doing, even if you don't feel like it.

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

I envy you if it comes to this... with me it was not press but pressure. ☘💕

Good you pimped this one!

Thanks! The eternal struggle between external motivation (pressure) and internal motivation (press) is a doozy... the challenge is that we are always externally motivated to do things of necessity to others so we may get what we need in return, but we must press ourselves to do those things that are essential to us.

I thank God for being raised by veterans and community servants who all taught me: PRESS into what you are supposed to be doing, even if you don't feel like it.

I don't think that people who haven't experienced this can understand.

They can understand if people who have experienced it take time to teach those who want to learn...

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 comments. Your next target is to reach 600 comments.
You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11