You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to sharpen knives and a comparison of 3 value knives.

in #outdoors5 years ago

A lot of people can sometimes be purists about sharpening, but I think some of the new guided sharpeners get results that more or less remove the purist argument.

Learning to use a stone is always a good thing, and I have the same tri-stone thing from Smith's. I also have a little Lansky sharpener with the guides and stones on a rod.

If you want a real edge though, look for either a Wicked Edge or Edge Pro Apex sharpener. They speed up the process, and produce scary sharp results. Sure, some might call this cheating since it holds the angles for you, but the precision pays off in edge quality. They are pricey options, but you can literally take every knife in a collection to the top of it's ability.

Sort:  

I considered a guided option - the shop guy recommended it if we wanted results with little fuss. I went with stones to learn how to sharpen without the aids. Eventually I want to sharpen blades with convex grinds and I'm not sure the guided options do convex well.
I'm at a loss how I'd do hollow grinds, but I don't foresee ever owning a knife with a hollow grind so maybe I don't worry about that yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hollow ground blades have a secondary straight bevel for the actual cutting edge, the hollow is a primary grind that goes either part-way or all the way to the spine and is intended to help lower friction against things like food. It creates an air pocket preventing suction to the surface.

Convex is just done with some sort of slack-belt sharpener usually. It can either be the edge grind, or convex can have a secondary edge bevel as well.

Most of the guided sharpeners are best used for the small secondary bevel cutting edges anyways.

If you get good with the stones, consider upgrading to the larger Japanese style wet-stones.

Thanks for the advice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91