Remember When by Marcia A. Newton

in #p6 years ago (edited)

Quick Intro

Hi everyone! It's Sirpicsalot again re-introducing a brilliant piece of art i found in the internet. Now, if you are a regular then you would know that I most of the time either bring back really old poems like poems from the early 19th century some even hundred's of years old like the poem I once blogged about Lord Byron, but now its a bit different. Whilst I was taking a shower today I asked myself a question why haven't I blogged about a recent poem especially those who I believe really deserves more exposure. And lo and behold after just a few minutes of browsing the internet I found a modern masterpiece. Truly a work of art made of love.

As you may not have already known. I'm happily married for years now yes I won her thru a Poem made of love and compassion. Out of her privacy and personal request although it bled my heart, she requested I not share the poem I made for her.

But hey, I found the second best thing and its a poem full of love in wonderful description. So please, join me in relishing the delight that is "Remember When".


Image Source | Photo Owner | Image License CC0


Remember When

© Marcia A. Newton

Published: May 31, 2017 from

Remember when we first did meet,
our hearts rejoiced and skipped a beat.
Remember our first kiss goodnight,
the hug we shared that summer's night.

Remember when we walked the beach
and all our dreams within our reach.
Remember how we used to be
when I had you and you had me.

Remember when we used to talk,
when we held hands and took long walks.
Remember how we spent our days
in warm sunshine and in the rain.

Remember when our one desire
was take a chance and ignite the fire.
Remember the times that made our hearts melt
and all of the passion and desire that we felt.

Remember when you looked at me
and saw the one you love and need.
Remember when you reached for me
and knew that we were meant to be.

Remember when our love was new.
Remember the day we both said, "I do."
Remember the journey we started together.
Remember our love was always forever.

Remember the promise we made together,
to love and to cherish and to care for each other.
Remember the promise in good times and in bad
and to make each one happy rather than sad.

Remember when you held our child
and rocked the baby when I grew tired.
Remember the treasured times
like these when love grew into family.

Remember when the world was bright,
when we would laugh and hold on tight.
Remember when our hearts were broken,
when times were tough and words unspoken.

Remember when we grieved our loss
with parents gone and feeling lost.
Remember when our love endured
the pains and heartaches of the world.

What happened to the life we shared?
What happened to a love so rare?
What happed to the kiss goodnight,
the warm embrace, the love at night?

Did it all just happen? How do we right the wrong?
I know that in my heart your arms I do belong.

Can we live our lives together just like it all began,
and can we hold and cherish each other and remember our love again?

Poem Source



The breakdown


Remember when we first did meet,
our hearts rejoiced and skipped a beat.
Remember our first kiss goodnight,
the hug we shared that summer's night.

Ahhh, the feeling of love at first sight. One truly brings back memories. I can almost see the inspiration of the poem, of reminiscing where it all began. Seeing your love for the first time, having the first kiss and hug. Truly a very warm and joyful time.
Just from this first paragraph you can already see the symmetry and isn't it oh so neat?
I'm a believer of free expression but I don't shy away and always admire it when a poem looks beautiful both in context and appearance


Remember when we walked the beach
and all our dreams within our reach.
Remember how we used to be
when I had you and you had me.

Remember when we used to talk,
when we held hands and took long walks.
Remember how we spent our days
in warm sunshine and in the rain.

Ahhh yes, the walks on the beach, holding hands and dreaming of what could be. I'm sorry if I'm getting carried away, it just rings so true to me I feel almost like I made this.

Essentially these paragraphs focuses on living back happy old times, the beginning of a wonderful relationship. The makings of a great partnership.

Notice the slight change of the rhyming here and there in these paragraphs. One can truly admire that the poet does not sacrifice context vs appearance which I always go for.


Remember when our one desire
was take a chance and ignite the fire.
Remember the times that made our hearts melt
and all of the passion and desire that we felt.

The romance part of the paragraph can be seen here, nothing to be said here kids. Just plain old love passion and desire.

In this paragraph we see a pattern a-a-b-b type where in the first two lines form a single sentence but has the same ending syllable. Quite fitting and beautifully made.

Remember when our love was new.
Remember the day we both said, "I do."
Remember the journey we started together.
Remember our love was always forever.

I can't help but feel so much awww in this paragraph. The tying of the not, the culmination of the relationship, the ultimate proof. The marriage, its quite well made that no mention of it was made yet all the words used exude the this meaning.

Remember the promise we made together,
to love and to cherish and to care for each other.
Remember the promise in good times and in bad
and to make each one happy rather than sad.

Here we can see the vows, a truly fitting one if I may say. I would have quoted this as part of my wedding vow If I had known these half a decade ago. So many songs so many poems have had tribute to these promises and as one that can attest to this, I still try my best to make sure me and my love stay true to the oath we took and that is as stated above.


Remember when you held our child
and rocked the baby when I grew tired.
Remember the treasured times
like these when love grew into family.

Sigh, the beauty of becoming from partners to a family, The becoming of a house to a home. Here it is on this 4 lined paragraph all summarized into one. If you are reading this now I hope you feel the journey of the author and that in this poem we share their steps from meeting to loving to marrying and now a family. I now wonder the things yet to come.


Remember when the world was bright,
when we would laugh and hold on tight.
Remember when our hearts were broken,
when times were tough and words unspoken.

Remember when we grieved our loss
with parents gone and feeling lost.
Remember when our love endured
the pains and heartaches of the world.

What happened to the life we shared?
What happened to a love so rare?
What happed to the kiss goodnight,
the warm embrace, the love at night?

Oh noooo. The heartbreak. Out comes the fighting and the disagreement of broken hearts and disappointment.
In every relationship comes disagreement but as I read thru this paragraph, believe me that little by little my smile just slowly faded. Same as the author I ask why, what happened. Oh the sadness. I've made this kind of poem before and I'm no stranger to this feeling. Of such a fine made poem raising me up only to make me feel down towards the end.


Did it all just happen? How do we right the wrong?
I know that in my heart your arms I do belong.

Can we live our lives together just like it all began,
and can we hold and cherish each other and remember our love again?

And here we are just like like this, then comes the confusion and sadness. The feeling of a lover wondering what went wrong. Alas this the end is not clear, only but a question a hint of hope I suppose. The feeling of hope that they can still make it right. The feeling of incompleteness towards the end of the poem makes me admire the author more. She leaves it to us to make the rest, and I myself would hope that love such us this would still be reunited in the end :)


Final words.

Wow that was a blast! I hope you read it as I did and journeyed with me on this poem. I know I won't be able to find one as beautiful as this but makes me want to look for another one more and more. To my readers, poems like these inspires me to share them with you. A different feeling everytime it brings when I find works like these.

It was a roller coaster journey, from first love then marriage to heartbreak. How bout you? Do you have an experience like this too? Maybe the beginning part? or maybe just the end part? I myself have not completed the journey yet as we've yet to make a family but I sincerely hope when we are ready we can bravely face the problems and shortcomings we may get in the future, and hopefully unlike the ending of the poem our marriage is kept intact.

Disclaimer
I own no rights to the poem nor the picture and have fully stated my sources.


I hope you enjoyed the new format and approach I made with this poem. As always feedbacks are always welcome, and I apologize if I'm not able to answer them immediately but will do so as soon as I can and as always I ask that you please support the arts, especially poetry as I fear it may be a dying breed in our culture.
-Sir. Picsalot

Sort:  

Congratulations @sirpicsalot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @sirpicsalot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sirpicsalot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66