Dog paintings and the story of my Pom X, Pippin

in #painting6 years ago

pippin painting.jpg

Last week, on the 27th of December, I brought home my second shelter dog. Incidentally this was the anniversary of Carrie Fisher's death; I loved her honesty and her relationship to her dog, Gary so it seemed fitting that I brought Pippin home on this day. Pippin is a Pomeranian mix and a little smaller than Delcie but she has made herself at home so quickly. I'm painting her in watercolours with dragonfly wings because she looks like a fairy. As such, she had to have a fantasy-themed name but she was given the name of a hobbit rather than a fairy. I know Pippin is a male but the name sounds feminine and it has some sparkle to it.

I have grown very invested in helping to re-home dogs since I started this journey of adopting new pets. I won't be able to adopt another dog but I was able to share pictures of the ones I couldn't take in, on community groups. One of the larger dogs, Ned was in danger of being put down at a kill shelter. After Christmas and New Year, many dogs are admitted to these shelters and the long-time residents have to be euthanised to make room for incoming dogs. Thankfully someone on the group saw my advert and provided Ned with a new home, which made my heart glad. God answered my prayer.

I am going to paint a series of dog portraits this year. I plan to put them together into a calendar and see if I can't sell them and donate a little to animal shelters next Christmas.

Here is a bonus picture of my two dogs sleeping on the 1st of January.

delcie and pippin.jpg

Happy 2018, Steemians. Thank you for your support.
~ Colleen

Sort:  

First off, Adorable dogs! I love dogs! I love all animals really and what a great thing to rescue them! I like the calendar idea as well. I love painting dogs as well there is just something magical about the animal world that expresses itself so well on the canvas and the page. I am now following as well and looking forward to more dog paintings. As you know I posted one of my dog paintins today so, great minds think alike I guess ;)

Thank you @donnadavisart . I am a fan of your pictures so I really appreciate the compliment. Keep up your great work too. There will be many updates on my two new furkids and more art here.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fyntacie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62799.08
ETH 3027.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95