Sparkling Mermaid

in #painting5 years ago

My body is not perfect, but I sparkle of color and joy.

This pretty much sums up how I felt when I painted this mermaid.
I drew her in my favorite colors of purple and teal*.
Adding contrast with green and pink and blue.
I used a watercolor wash for the background adding splatters of color.
And I finished the image with sparkles on her body using shimmering metallic ink

*o.k. black will always be #1, but it's not a color 😎

]2018-01-17 14.27.27.jpg

***

Sorry, but I did not take step by step photos of the process for this pic. I was fully immersed in the creation process, but...

here's a few close ups, so you can see the sparkle:

divider.png
2018-01-17 14.27.35.jpg
divider.png
2018-01-17 14.28.06.jpg
divider.png
2018-01-17 14.28.20.jpg
divider.png

***

Thanks for reading and viewing. I hope you enjoyed!

***

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It's a fine sentiment :) To sparkle life and joy! And "perfect" bodies are just an illusion anyway, it is better to be happy and healthy :)

Very nice drawing, @oceanbee :) I love her hair, so green and wild in the sea ! And that gold detailing is so pretty! I love the tail and the starfish very much :D

I completely agree @veryspider and have nothing to add to your words :)
Yeah, the body is a bit - meh, but I love wild hair (drives my hairdresser nuts - hahaha)

Congratulations @oceanbee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Her eyes 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you like them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68