ExhalesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #painting5 years ago

'Exhale', oil on canvas, 100cm x 100cm. I painted this one a few years back while I was still living in Cyprus.

Exhale2.jpg

If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate it if you leave me a comment, upvote or resteem.
You can follow me @philjoannides to see more of my work in the future.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

This is a beautiful painting, @philjoannides. The forest is 'sleeping'.

Your paintings are not only beautiful but hold special meaning.

Maybe you could include a little more of what you were experiencing and seeing as you painted.

@youhavewings Thank you so much. This painting was inspired by something I saw while walking through the park next to my house in a state where I wasn't conceptualising the light entering my eyes as fixed forms as I usually might have. In this way it felt as though I was dreaming into my visual field and watching feelings influence my perception, the more beautiful I felt my surroundings were the more beautiful they became and this became a cycle were everything became more and more beautiful. In all honesty I feel as though the painting is a pretty crude attempt at capturing the experience but also that some essence of it shines through, at least I hope so. Usually I don't write about my work as I feel it should be seen in and of itself and any words attached tend to influence the person reflecting upon it in such a way that they think about what they're supposed the make of it instead of just taking it in.

I definitely think that your experience was shining through in your art, but that is a nice added bit of information about the light in your eyes (I just wrote about something similar in which the light hit the tears in my eyes - it was pretty amazing!).

I enjoyed reading what inspired you and think it gives your painting even more beauty and expresses what provokes an artist to create. However, I do understand your sentiment of allowing the viewing to have the experience, too.

Sometimes the story behind an art piece is part of the art ;) I bet all your paintings have a special story.

Thank you, @philjoannides


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @philjoannides! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @philjoannides! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very lovely painting, @philjoannides ! The colours and the lighting are superbly evocative of things unseen and seen in our world, and the faces on the bark of the tree are wonderfully hidden and visible at the same time <3 Gorgeous work <3

@veryspider Thank you, I'm glad you apppreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95