'Youniverse' painting & processsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #painting5 years ago

Hi friends, I wanted to share with you the first painting I made at the Vienna Academy of Visionary Art, two years ago. This was also my first time working in the mischtechnik (German for 'mixed technique') which involves building up the light in the painting using egg tempera and glazing transparent layers of oil paint. Here is a photograph of the finished piece:

Youniverse.jpg
When looking at an original mischtechnik painting it appears to be glowing from within as light doesn't simply reflect off the surface of the painting but actually travels through the transparent layers of paint, reflecting off of opaque highlights underneath.

This technique was first introduced to me by the wonderful artists Kuba Ambrose and Vera Atlantia (if you are not familiar with their work, I highly recommend checking it out) during my first trimester at VAVA in the autumn of 2016. Below are photos documenting the process of creating the painting:

Youniverse (1st egg tempera layer).jpg
First, the values of the image are built up using white egg tempera over the red imprimatura (the first layer of paint to cover the white of the canvas).

Youniverse (WIP).jpg
Then after glazing with transparent oil paint more egg tempera is applied, and then more glazing.

Youniverse (WIP2).jpg
The painting is refined more with every layer and interesting optical colour mixing effects can be achieved (which photos are powerless to capture)

If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate it if you leave me a comment, upvote or resteem.
You can follow me @philjoannides to see more of my work in the future and I invite to have a look at the paintings I've already shared.

For inquiries about purchasing paintings or prints you can contact me at [email protected]

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Woah! This is some pretty intense and trippy work! Thanks for sharing! Resteemed! I hope Dreamtree sells a painting someday that can afford a home so we can buy one of your works and have a place to display it.

Thanks @shaman-ra ! I'm glad that you resonate with the work.

Hey, welcome to steem! This is a cool painting, I hope you will keep posting on the platform we need more good artists. Steem can take some persistence but if you keep at it you will do well here.

I've got a vote from @noisy here for you as a welcome to the platform, he has delegated me two votes a week using hub.wise.vote I'm trying to give a boost to artists on the platform.
woops damn, never mind main tag has to be #art for that to work. I'll still try to get you some exposure through some other curation groups.

@solar Thanks, I appreciate the support.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Good to see you here on Steemit. Are there other students of VAVA on here also?
upvoted and resteemed

@thermoplastic Thanks Otto! I'm trying to spread the word about the platform but there are no other VAVA students on here yet as far as I know.

This is an amazing panting, @philjoannides ! The technique works wonderfully with your painting, as the layers interacts with such fluidity through the different faces of the canvas <3 Gorgeous work !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11