#wednesdaywalk – Lunchtime, Paragon Hotel, Sydney

in #palnet5 years ago

This is my contribution for #Wednesdaywalk ! even though I really just walked across the road and down a bit, this is where I like the visit on my lunch breaks. Quiet beer and lovely green and sky, all while being on the roof of a hotel :D

I really like this place because of the living walls they have upstairs, and I think the tanks they have downstairs for the tank beer is cool 😊 plus, not far from work!

Here are some pictures I have taken!
IMG_9766.jpg

IMG_9762.JPG

IMG_9767.JPG this couch is where i sit every time, most people stay away from it as its a smoking area but i don't care :)

IMG_9769.JPG

IMG_9770.JPG

TANK BEER!! :)

The following shots are randomly picked off the internet -

TZ-Paragon-2.jpg current

hall_34780h.jpg 1836 i believe - i would have LOVED to see it then!!

A bit of history:

Paragon Hotel, Loftus & Alfred Streets
BY HALL & CO.
Built in 1868, the Paragon is still at Circular Quay. In the 1930's, Tooths was the largest brewery in NSW, with 80% of the market, as it owned 800 hotels, including the Paragon. Probably unique among employers, Tooths ensured the loyalty of their staff with four free schooners of beer a day. Brewing is an ancient art and the wooden beer barrels on the trucks were called kilderkins and firkins. A kilderkin held 18 gallons (82 litres) and the smaller firkin half that amount.
https://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/collection-items/paragon-hotel-loftus-alfred-streets

4 schooners a day! pretty sure that would keep me coming back too lol.
Historic pubs are beautiful :)

Happy Wednesday everyone! =^_^=

Sort:  

What a wonderful place!...💜💜💜

Looks like a place I would love to spend my lunch break at and what cool history it has

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks for having me!! :)
There are some lovely historic buildings in Sydney that I’m going to visit and post about for the walks :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

MY pleasure to have you aboard the Wednesday Walk, and look forward to seeing your future posts ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65