The Human Virus

in #palnet5 years ago

No matter how much it is explained to me, and regardless of the research that explains our natural inclinations to hunt, I will never accept trophy hunting as something that is benevolent. More so, when I hear these people talk about how they fight for nature, all I feel like doing is slapping them.



britannica

Hunting is fine


As a species, as part of nature, we've been hunting for thousands and thousands of years. Yes, we might think today that is inhumane (funny word) to kill another living being, but it's not how life itself works. You see, in order for something to continue living, something else must perish. This could be a chicken or a cucumber, but the principle is the same.

So when I say I'm ok with hunting, I mean it sincerely. If someone hunts for food, if someone forages, that's just a person following their natural instinct to survive. I've met along my lifetime plenty of people that eat what they hunt, eat what they fish, and I've never seen them as "evil". As a matter of fact, even to these days we have plenty of tribes in the world that rely on hunting to survive and to label them as evil is to be myopic or naive.

Treasure Hunting


That is an abomination and a complete contradiction to the laws of nature. It is the equivalent of taking for the sake of taking and not due to need. What's makes it even uglier, at least to me, is that the people who partake of the "sport" (note the air quotes), have come up with a ridiculous justification for what they do.

So, this impulse to kill is adorned, because that is the word, with purpose that allows them to justify it beautifully. "Oh, we are controlling the herd.... Oh, the game meat feeds little children..... Oh, the money we pay goes towards conservation efforts".

Do you see how twisted it is? If I was to say something along the lines of. "Well yeah... we kill humans, but the organs are used to save other people who need them... and the money I pay per kill helps feed other humans who are hungry... I do it because I care" - You would call me a monster, and you would be correct to do so.

What can I say? I'm disgusted with these people and the whole notion that it's fair because it's a fight of man vs beast is so ridiculous. Yes, look how brave you are killing a lion from 150 feet away with a gun, that takes courage, unlike those tribesmen that do it with spears, yeah they are not brave they are weak and stupid.

We act like a virus at times... we truly do.

MenO

Sort:  

And the amazing thing is that they feel very happy about it!
I get hunting but I don't get killing the animals you don't eat!
what ? just to put their hear above your dining table!? these MOFOs deserve to be eating by the lions!

Hunting as a part of life survives then it is really ok to do it. Some tribes do it to survive in their life but doing in a life make a enjoy of that moment and destroyed a nature it is not a good idea thaey have to do.

Posted using Partiko Android

art imitating life or life imitating art....

unfortunately the human condition works in mysterious ways, it allows us to believe things so we can sleep better at night, to justify our actions, normalize our behaviors, etc.

the first part of fixing a problem is admitting we have a problem... but i wouldn't be holding my breath for that either... We have a choice, be in harmony with the planet or be a cancer upon it, for the most part we have been the latter.

lets hope we soon wake up to ourselves

Humanity is a plague indeed.

Hunting for sport aside, the problem with hunting and foraging for food is that this hasn't been a sustainable means of survival for over 1000 years. If you want to have more than a couple million people on the planet, then you have to farm, plain and simple.

If everyone hunted/foraged for their food everything on the planet would be eaten in a day.

Greetings @meno

It would be great if the money they invest in these practices could be directed to studies of cure of rare diseases or to educational projects run by universities.

I went for the first time last year and could not find myself participating but at least it was hunting for food as we got a wild boar and ate from it for weeks! However, I have seen trophy rooms which I can’t understand.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82