Remembering The Human Value Of The Last Bull Run. A Ramble.

in #palnet4 years ago

Now that things are beginning to heat up a little in the crypto markets I'm noticing that I'm hearing from friends, and family I usually don't hear from often. After the bull run of 2017 many people in my life sat up and took notice of the crypto space. It was like all of the sudden the mute button they had switched on me since 2010 was switched off.

For years I had suggested and pushed for those in my life to get involved in this space. I even bought Bitcoin for some of my family members here in the UK as a Christmas present one year... of course they lost the private key and it was bye bye crypto. The reality is they were just nonplussed by the present so safely storing that piece of paper wasn't a priority. (head meet brick wall. bash bash bash) But in those days almost every attempt to get anyone involved was met with an eye roll and brush off.

When Ethereum was at nine dollars I promptly became bullish after researching it. Later it would move out to 800 USD and I became incredibly popular with people I rarely spoke to. Now that we are seeing some stable growth and the data is pointing towards the upside the same thing is happening again.

2017 was a middle to late part of my journey with cryptocurrency, but for many in my life it marked a beginning. Despite the fact that for years I had suggested people get into the space, the fact was that the beginnings of the bull market finally got them to sit up and take notice. The usual suspicion of it being a scam, or like gambling dissipated. It was seen as new, as exciting, as something revolutionary. It was amazing because a real buzz of sorts began.

In many ways the 2017 run brought a lot of people closer in my life. My older sibling and I began to talk more. Something that had been tough growing up because of our similarities as well as our differences. Through the course of showing him how to buy and hold crypto securely we ended up realizing we had both grown up and actually got along really well. This sort of thing became common place with a lot of people around me. I actually felt a sort of relief that I had finally managed to get them to finally hold some Bitcoin, Litecoin, Monero, EOS, etc. I did really well in the last bull run, but knowing I had gotten others into the space made it all feel a little bit more... well, just enjoyable. The folks I got in before everything went insane upwards sold, some hodl'd, everyone got to learn.

So as I said earlier my email and phone have begun pinging away again. I know that in the coming year there will be things to help with from what to buy, what to sell, when to sell, how to sell, etc. It's actually got me a little excited. I'll continue to suggest picking up things like Steem, Tezos, EOS, Monero. Some of my favorites basically. There will be those hair pulling face time chats where I'm instructing the less tech inclined of family and friends to point their phones at their computer screen so I can see what the hell they are talking about. Others it will be a doddle to point them in the right direction. But unlike 2017 this time everyone will be on the same page.

Scrolling through my messages today I found myself thinking about the past couple years. The bear market has been just as much a time for growth as the previous bull market, just growth of a different kind. I've definitely learned the best way to get people involved in holding cryptocurrency is to just buy them their first little bit and gift it. With things like Steem the best option is to just buy them the account and set them up on an easy to use front end.

I did this for my nephew and he plays/posts on the Steem block chain all the time. When he received his first whale vote from block trades the kid lost his tiny mind. With those in my life who like gambling I point them at things like bitcoin faucets where you can play dice for free. The days of making big money off faucets are long gone, and it's more a nostalgia thing for me but they are still fun... though having said that I have made the odd withdraw off of crypto faucets over the years.

There are so many ways to get people involved in this space nowadays. By comparison to when I got started it's damn near streamlined. It's easy to see in the data that 2020 is going to be exciting... but for many of us it's a feeling that we are about to have those insane days where the longs are good, where every time we check the market our jaws drop. I did pretty good last time around... though I did feel like I wanted to fall on my sword over the Bitcoin I had sold years before.

As the time for the next run up draws closer I'm really looking forward to helping out when I get those phone calls from the people I convinced to buy when BTC was below 5k. I'm looking forward to the general buzz and excitement I get to see others feel as they sell their first odd bit of crypto at a profit. I'm looking forward to the people aspect just as much as I'm looking forward to the profit in short.

Well guys, if you've managed to make it this far through my ramble then thanks. If you have people around you you haven't gotten into this space yet then spare the odd ten bucks, set up an exodus wallet for them or something similarity easy to use, set up a Steem account and delegate a little Steem, point them at a faucet (I'll leave a link below for a BTC and Tezos faucet). Basically get those first steps out of the way. It's not often in our lives we can make others a little cash as well as bring folks together.

Again thanks for reading guys. As always I'm looking forward to all your awesome posts and projects. Keep on Steeming!

Faucet Links For A Little Free Crypto:
https://faucet.tezos.com/
https://freebitco.in/?r=36900581

Image credits:
giphy
NHS Trust
levity.com
Minnesota Dental Association.

Sort:  

A great post here, and therefore sent off to curangel for some love.

I tell a lot of people about my crypto holdings, or metals for that matter, the same as I don't discuss my income, superannuation or property holdings in any great depth with many...Here's the thing though.

When crypto falls people descend on me like vultures keen to pick the rotting flesh off my dead-crypto-carcass gleefully. They approach me with evil grins happy to remind me, and revel in, the decline of my crypto portfolio.

"Hows your bitcoin going?" they ask with a smirk, knowing full-well it went backwards over night.

When things start heading upwards though...Not a peep from said vultures.

I'm only a novice in the crypto-space and don't hold massive amounts but I hold some hope that it will pay dividends down the track, and that my blogging, the main source of my crypto, doesn't go unrewarded.

I went down the track of trying to onboard people here, to get people into the crypto-space and with the exception of my brother @tarazkp (who got me into it) I have been largely unsuccessful. It's ok though, I'll just do what I do, accept the vulture-pecking when it's down and plod along on my own, surrounded by people like you who get it...

My only regret is not buying $100 of BTC 10 years ago. Lol. Oh well, that's the way it goes. I know better now.

Nice little post here mate. :)

Thank you for giving it a read. In regards to the vultures.... I definitely know the feeling. I was one of those that bought BTC ten years ago (sold a lot of it over the years... rather stupidly), and yet even after it’s various gains I still had people aiming the odd snipe my way in down periods. Funnily enough those were the ones who were blowing up my phone back in 2017. I had the urge to say ‘I told you so’ to some, but I kept it under wraps. Plain fact was that at least they were finally jumping on board. It was a sort of relief. Though... I must admit I did have a few smug moments buying the odd pint for mates and reminding them that the bev was due to BTC. Lol.

When the market started really getting a bit bubbly I began hearing statements like “Bitcoin is gonna go to 100k this time!” That’s when I started cautioning maybe taking a little profit. Don’t get me wrong it may someday, but I just didn’t see it happening last time. When folks like your great aunt are starting to ask you about “That Bitcoin thing from the news” it’s time to start priming yourself to short the upcoming drop.

I think this time we are in for a really awesome wild ride. It’s gonna be up and down like a whores drawers, but it’s gonna be fun. Stuff like the Steem block chain are gonna add to that. I don’t hold a lot of Steem, but I have spent more time on it than anywhere else. I’ve tried other stuff on chains like EOS, but it’s just not the same. I had zero blogging experience when I showed up here. Hell, I hated typing emails. But I’ve gotten a lot from Steem. Any added monetary gain at this point is just a bonus.

I can’t help but feel we are sitting on top of one hell of a rocket this bull run though. Our neck of the woods on old Steem is going to be one hell of a happening place when things go upward with speed again. I’m certainly looking forward to seeing all those old accounts who were calling it a shit coin come back online and start posting again... I definitely wonder what they’ll say when we are back up around 5 USD a Steem. It’s gonna make scrolling through new posts more fun than usual. Lol.

Thank you for stopping by and giving my post a look as well as sending it to curangle. I really appreciate that. :)

I really wish I'd bought some BTC back in the day...Mistrust held me back and now look at it? Still, I have some now, along with a few others, and hope to find some gains. $100,000BTC would make me happy, as would $10 steem.

Yes, I agree, there'll be a bunch of people flooding back to steem saying things like needed a break or was busy...Yeah right oh ye of little faith! Welcome back. I'll find it difficult to vote those types as I used to back in the day...They'll need to show me they deserve it. Lol.

I hope you're right in that things are on the up as it would certainly vindicate the hours a day i spend producing content.

If it all goes well maybe we'll catch up at some steem event somewhere in the world and we can mutually shout the other other a crypto beer.

!ENGAGE 20



@mudcat36 you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42