Box car derby day!

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

This was actually pretty cool to see all the different cars that people made for the race.

So the last couple of years my friend has been building these cars from scratch, I never really got what was so great about it until I went to the event yesterday in Clearwater FL.

We sponsored the car, yes they really do get sponsors like the big boys. Here is this year's car, it's a yellow submarine.

20191005_105619_HDR.jpg

We didn't win the trophy but we had a lot of fun in the sun, and it was good for morale, sometimes it's good to get out with the folks you work with all day!

There were so many cool cars with all kinds of themes, it's amazing how much detail these racers put into the cars. It looked like they got up to 30 mph at times.

20191005_102636_HDR.jpg

Sorry about the picture being sideways, my software on this phone sucks and I tried flipping it so many times that I got frustrated and gave up!

I'm already looking forward to next year and I will probably help out with the car this time around, the brakes went out on the last race and I think I can help with that problem. Next year we will be ready!

Thank you for reading my blog and have a great day!


Sort:  

That's awesome! I haven't seen derby cars in a while. They actually have a "track/hill" by me where they race them. I may just have to redneck something together and give it a shot.

lol, we have lot's of rednecks around here, you would fit right in!

I know that derby car races has been around for a very, very long time. I think I will have to read up on it for better appreciation. And perhaps it will make it to my bucket list: watch a derby race at least once in my lifetime.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's a pretty cool hobby if your handy at making things.

Brilliant mate and I LOVE soapbox racing. We built these things as kids using old pram wheels we nicked from scrapyards!
It's great as an adult when you can be a big kids again. Glad you had a great day and best wishes :-)

Red bull actually run a world series....you can smell my jealousy , can't you ? Lol

I had no idea it was that popular, and it was funny watching the big adults cram into them. They had more fun than the kids did!

Cool car, looks like LOT OF FUN!

Thanks, it was really fun to be a part of!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @tbnfl4sun!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.802 which ranks you at #5063 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 114 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @tbnfl4sun!

You just got a 25.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85