You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Experiencing a 5.3 Earthquake 37 Floors Up in a Panama City Apartment

in #panama6 years ago

What an awesome place! I'm from SC, so earthquakes aren't really my jam. When the big one hit Oaxaca a few months back, I think it was 7 something over there, but that's the other side of Central America. Couldn't have been more than what a 4 would feel like, but it lasted a good 2 minutes. It just kept going and going, and the vertigo was so bad I could hardly walk.

Sort:  

Wow, that's a long quake! The one we were in was super short, which was good! Just enough to let us realize that we were in one. Most people didn't even seem to notice. We have them here in the mountains of Panama on occasion and we miss most of them - I'm totally cool with that though! Yeah the Oaxaca one was really bad - lots of devastation.

I honestly wasn't even sure what was happening. It felt like it does when the washing machine gets loaded up on one side. The house is old and on stilts, so I'm sure that makes a difference. It just kept going, and I tried to wake my husband, but he just kept sleeping. When it was over, I tried to go outside to check on the dog, but I almost fell walking to the door from the vertigo. I ended up reading online that lots of people get vertigo from earthquakes. I can't imagine what they felt in Oaxaca and then for Mexico City to get hit with an even worse one just a short time later. The earth might be telling us something!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66