2018 Palomar Fly In | Paragliding in Southern California | Tacos in the LZ

This was another example of how much fun can you pack in just a few hours.

So the boys and myself hit the ground running. I knew that there was going to be a fly-in, but when I kept looking at the weather report it seemed to be getting worse and worse as the day approached. It was going to be high pressure weather. That means for the most part that the flying is not going to be very fun.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.37.44 PM.png

The day started off with some work at the church building.

The owner of the building decided that we need to move into the suite at the end of the hall. And that we are going to need to pay for the remodel or our rent is going to increase. So We are in the middle of that work.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.32.58 PM.png

When I finally got finished, me and the boys jumped in the jeep and headed to Palomar.

I knew a few pilots that were going to be there so I jumped in.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.33.08 PM.png

Eddy was the guy who had the first truck that was going up to the top.

So I jumped in with them. It was a full truck that was for sure.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.33.15 PM.png

A quick assessment of the wind and we were ready to get in the air.

By the time we got to launch, there were already a handful of pilots in the air.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.33.36 PM.png

This is the part where I get super excited.

When I see a few guys launch and get above launch right away it is motivating.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.34.06 PM.png

The high pressure weather was still producing a little bit of a laps rate.

Laps rate is the difference of temperature at different altitudes. The stronger the differential the better the lift.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.34.12 PM.png

After launching and a few turns we were in the big air.

20 people or so were also fighting to get the highest they could.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.34.26 PM.png

I noticed a hand full of guys heading for the landing and it seemed to be turning off.

Eddy's truck was on launch and I remember him saying that if someone was kind enough to top land and bring it down, he would be grateful.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.36.15 PM.png

I landed.

The problem was that Eddy already flew down and road his electric mountain bike back up to the top.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.36.24 PM.png

So I launched again.

This time I didn't have the variometer beeping in my ear. Lets do some free flight.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.37.17 PM.png

Flying without the vario is such a peaceful thing to do.

I have enough electronics beeping in my ear all day. I go to fly to get away from all the noise.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.37.44 PM.png

I was able to catch a thermal and go higher than everyone else who was still in the air.

It was a cool feeling. I looked around and didn't see anyone else at my altitude.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.38.48 PM.png

I missed a couple thermals and headed to the LZ.

LZ means Landing Zone. We were supposed to have tacos in the LZ so I was looking forward to that landing.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.39.25 PM.png

My son took the video of this part.

He did such a great job of watching for me to come in for a landing.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.39.32 PM.png

This was the first time that I was able to touch down in the actual LZ for the club.

I normally end up landing in the other areas because I try to scratch until the last minute. It makes me appreciate the level up on the skill set.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.39.55 PM.png

It was great to see friends.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.40.01 PM.png

I wasn't the only pilot to have some really good flying.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.40.09 PM.png

Taco time.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.40.26 PM.png

It was a great day of flying.

Take a look at this flying contraption.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 2.40.41 PM.png

See video below

Thats enough for now.

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day and see you in the air.

Sort:  

ED2B6BC8-4E25-43AD-9BBF-41E704C0FEAF.png

Busy day. The more I think about it I'm surprised I don't see more of this going on here in Arizona. Right now it is so hot people could just melt but I have never really seen anyone paragliding here for some reason.

Taco time sounds good!

A big thumbs up for reaching the LZ Cap't :)
You're getting loads of flying done matey.

Awesome photography.Much obliged for sharing it.

your story of barfing a bit really intrigued me so here I am leaving a comment about that part
thanks steemspeak!

I will be posting on that tomorrow or friday. You can see the video here tho.

Dude that was so insane! And then you shot a puke geyser. It probably landed on a hikers head. LOL

I couldn't believe that wing was capable of that. I would think the risk would be that you would be inverted and then not have the momentum and just fall down into your chute and be wadded up falling to the ground.

When he said structural risk was he talking about the lines breaking and then you would have that other chute that was on your chest to save you guys?

That was intense and then that dude at the end was doing the barrel rolls real low and then came burning in at 50 mph. That was insane. Those things are pretty high performance.

Congratulations @captainobviou3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94