Lets Fly | Took a nice little trip XC in some smooth air | Paragliding in So Cal

in #paragliding6 years ago (edited)

I wasn't going to make the trip out to Blossom because I forgot my wing at home. I am glad that I went late. It was worth it.

Some times its hard to believe that the air can be so good this late in the day. The reason that I called it "Summer Flying".

We have had few big XC days so far this season. So the flying has been a little bit 'site' focused. I'm not complaining, its just supposed to be the best part of the year to fly. Last summer I was too new to the sport to fly before glass off. Personally I still think that I am too new, but whatever.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.09.47 AM.png

Since I had to go to the house to get my gear, I figured I would get the boys out from behind the computer.

My wife @erin-michiels and I had a conversation about getting the boy outside so that they can be boys. At first they didn't want to go to Blossom with me because its not Torrey Pines with the pool table and the cliffs. Its kind of just a mountain with not much to do. But I was telling @erin-michiels that they needed to get out and learn how to be mountain men.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.09.55 AM.png

The weather report was saying that the lift was going to take us to about 2500 above sea level.

Turns out that the report was pretty accurate. Not all the time is the weather model predicting properly.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.01 AM.png

I was ready to get in the air tho, because the time was running out.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.10 AM.png

Tony grabbed his gear and headed to the launch, while I got the rest of my yard sale together.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.16 AM.png

Launching was going to be a little tricky.

The wind was stronger than I like so I would launch from the lower launch. Not the bailout but the bottom of the upper launch. Feels safer to me. And after the day that I got kicked thought the goalposts of the rocks on the top the other day, I wasn't about to re-live that episode.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.21 AM.png

It went pretty smooth after a few seconds of adjusting the wing over my head.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.32 AM.png

When the winds are strong, you take a chance at getting a collapse.

That means that you have to be on your wing.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.10.44 AM.png

A couple of the other guys got up quick. They were able to find a thermal and head strait to the moon.

I on the other hand needed a little more time to figure out where the thermals were going up. Being the new guy requires a little more time. And sometimes that time means that you are going to be landing at the bailout or even at the bottom.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.11.23 AM.png

Tony and Art were having a grand ole time flying around at the top of lift, while I was finding sink holes.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.11.52 AM.png

I had to make a quick decision to land at the launch.

This was going to turn out to be a wise decision be cause I watched one of the other guys flying very low to the base.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.12.03 AM.png

I turned the GoPro off and got my things together.

I was going to need to focus. Find the thermals that I knew were there, and get in them. It worked. I found my self at about 2200 feet above sea level and headed to El Cap.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.12.45 AM.png

If you watch the video, you will see that because I landed, my flyskyhi app turned off. It thought that I was done flying when I came in to top land.

It is alway a little awkward messing with my instruments and flying hands off. Don't try this at home kids.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.13.13 AM.png

I made it to El Cap with ease.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.14.08 AM.png

I thought Tony was still at El Cap, but it turns out he had already headed back to the launch.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.14.18 AM.png

I was going to spend some more time getting altitude.

You want to be a little bit higher than the top of El Cap if you are going to make the glide back home. This day it was going to be pretty easy.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.15.07 AM.png

When I decided to head back, I pointed into the wind and headed SW like normal and hit a really nice thermal to boost me up to about 3200ft.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.15.19 AM.png

The air was so smooth on the way back, I was able to take some selfies with my go pro on my helmet.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.15.52 AM.png

Don't try this at home kids.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.15.59 AM.png

This day was coming to a close. I needed to get back to launch. I was parked on the top, and I didn't want to have to hike with the boys up there.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.16.12 AM.png

I made it back. What a beautiful day.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.16.41 AM.png

Everyone had a great time.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.17.03 AM.png

I am sure that I could have kept flying after I landed, but I needed to just pack up.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.17.11 AM.png

That was fun.

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 7.17.37 AM.png

Check out www.paraglidingtalk.com if you are interested in flying. Or if you want to learn about what the sport is all about.

Don't forget to follow and subscribe if you like what you see. Have a great day! See you in the air.

Check out @Booster if you want some help to take your post to the moon!
Do you produce consistent and commercial friendly content?
Take a look at this post by @fyrstikken for the chance to see if you have what it takes.
https://steemit.com/xfactor-steem/@fyrstikken/we-want-to-sponsor-a-few-more-weekly-video-shows-with-booster

Sort:  

I get sweaty hands just watching stuff like that...But glad people do it so I can watch them do it :) Awesome!

Thanks for stopping by @scandinavianlife Its my pleasure to fly for you. LOL

you so have one of the raddest blogs on here
I mean....you freaking fly and I feel that beats color challenges and cookies
O.o :P

Thank you. That is super kind of you.

Loading...

Awesome post and amazing flight. Still on my bucket list!
Thanks for posting!

Thanks for taking a look. Have a great day!

You got a 4.96% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @captainobviou3!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

It's a pleasure asking courage, I have that courage, no money dude :D

Glad you have steemit. We are all going to be rich!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59